Last year had it’s own exciting thrills but many women’s cricket loyals expect the bar to be raised when the eleventh edition of the Pepsi Girls’ Schools’ Cricket Week bowls off this Sunday.

The tournament, not only the foundation but also the women’s cricket calendar opener, will see 12 schools take part at four different ovals in Lugogo, Kyambogo, Gayaza and Budo for five days until May 2.

Local body Uganda Cricket Association (UCA) officials are positive that better game levels and standards will be showcased by the girls.

“This is going to be more competitive and entertaining than last year,” UCA CEO Justine Ligyalingi told Kawowo Sports after announcing the Shs.10m sponsorship from Crown Beverages’ brand Pepsi at the launch held at Lugogo Oval earlier this week. “All teams have played well in the qualifiers to get to this stage.” he added.

Quite notably, defending champions Jinja SS, who beat Gayaza High by eight wickets last term’s final, have been tipped to reclaim the title. They have been busier than the rest of their opponents over the past one year.

They acquired the services of U-19 star Janet Mbabazi from last year’s semifinalists Light School Soroti. 

Other schools Busoga High, Soroti, St. James and new comers Pavartbeni Muljbhai Madhvani (PMM) will seek to stun central region schools Gayaza, King’s College Budo, Kololo and Ndejje. 

PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS; Gayaza High School, King’s College Budo, Kololo SS, Ndejje SS, Jinja SS, St. James SS, PMM, Busoga High School, Light School Soroti, Masaka SS, Kilembe SS and Nyakasura School.


2001 Gayaza High

2002 Gayaza High

2003 City High

2004 City High

2005 Gayaza High

2006 City High

2007 Not held 

2008 Jinja SS

2009 Not held

2010 Jinja SSS

2011 Gayaza High

2012 Jinja SSS

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply