19th World University Cross Country Championships

At Entebbe Golf Course

The 19th World University cross country championships are set to take place at the Entebbe Golf Course this Saturday, 22nd March 2014 in Entebbe, Uganda.

“We expect 28 nations that have confirmed participation in the day long event”, Vicent Kisenyi, the Vice President of the National Universities Sports Federation of Uganda (NUSFU) told the media at a special briefing held at the federation’s head offices in Mengo Kampala on Tueday morning.

Already two nations, Sri Lanka and Ghana have arrived in the country and are camping at the games’ main village (Imperial Botanical hotel in Entebbe).

Other nations expected to reach by Wednesday evening are, Spain, Australia, Japan, Jordan, Switzerland, Oman, Sierrae Leone, Morocco, Rwanda, Namibia, Senegal, Zambia. Ethiopia, Eritrea, Burundi, Tanzania, Zimbabwe, Mali, South Africa and the defending Champions, Kenya, who won the last event held in Poland.

Team Uganda, which has been camping at Ndejje University will transfer to the games’ village on Wednesday. “Uganda’s team has 8 men and 6 women all from Ugandan universities and we expect to put up the best showing”, Kisenyi adds.

The event is organised by National Universities Sports Federation of Uganda (NUSFU) in conjunction with the Africa’s Universities body (FASU) and the international body (FISU).

With 3 days to Saturday kickoff, NUSFU is still short of $ 10000 to help in the logistical and organizational departments. The official flag raising for all the participating nations will take place on Wednesday before an all teams’ dinner to be hosted by the mayor of Entebbe, Vicent Kayanja De Paul.

World Cross Country Regulations:

The cross-country competition has its own FISU Regulations following the most recent rules of the International Association of Athletic Federation (IAAF). The FISU Regulations are always set up on the recommendation of the FISU Technical Chair and the IAAF Technical Delegate in close cooperation with the Committee for Sports Regulations, and approved by the FISU Executive Committee.

In principle, the programme shall last one (1) day and include the events below.

Each country may enter a maximum of nineteen (19) persons of whom fourteen (14) may be competitors and five (5) officials.

Each country may enter in the events

– Individual event Men: maximum six (6) competitors per country

– Individual event Women: maximum five (5) competitors per country

– Team Men classification: first four (4) finishers will participate in the team classification

– Team Women classification: first three (3) finishers will participate in the team classification


David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply