This year’s Kagame Cup will kick off August 9, the Council for East and Central Africa Football Association (CECAFA) has confirmed.
The council’s Secretary General Nicholas Musonye made the communication and confirmed that the club tournament will run till August 23 in Rwanda, Kigali.
“The Cecafa Kagame Club championship will run from 9 to the 23rd August,” Musonye told
“The championship matches will all be staged in the capital Kigali,” he added.

Rwanda last hosted the tournament in 2010 and Musonye is optimistic it will even be better this year praising the brand that is the Kagame Cup. 

“You will recall that the last time the Kagame Cup was played in Rwanda was in 2010 and the competition was a huge success. We want to surpass that by organizing a very good competition this year,” said Musonye.
“The “Kagame Cup is now an established brand in Africa and we must stage a championship that meets standards in the highest esteem and highest possible way to ensure that the brand remains what it has been.”

Musonye also added that two stadiums that is The Amahoro and Nyamirambo will host the games with Rubavu stadium, an alternative venue.
Clubs from 12 countries have confirmed sending representatives with four clubs from Angola, the DRC and Congo Brazzaville on standby.

Uganda will be represented by Kampala City Council (KCC FC). The side last won the competition in 1978.
Burundi’s Vital ‘O are the defending champions of the competition sponsored by Rwanda’s president H.E Paul Kagame.
The winners, runners up and third placed team earn $ 30,000, $ 20,000 and $ 10,000 respectively.

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think