Cecafa Kagame Club Cup Championship

August 8-24, 2014

Ugandan representatives at the 2014 CECAFA Kagame Cup Kampala City Council Football Club (KCC FC) have been handed a tough draw at the upcoming event due to be held in Kigali, Rwanda.

In a draw conducted at the Ferwafa headquarters on Friday evening, the 2013/14 Ugandan champions are drawn in group B with 1985 winners and current Kenya Premier League (KPL) champions Gor Mahia FC, Rwanda’s APR FC, Telecom FC of Djibouti and Burundi’s Flambeau de I’Est.

Group A has Rwanda’s Rayon Sport, Tanzania giants Young Africans, Ethiopia’s Coffee, KMKM of Zanzibar and South Sudan’s Atlabara whilst Group C has defending champions Vital’O of Burundi, Sudan’s El Merriekh whose last championship came in 1994, Sam Ssimbwa’s Police FC of Rwanda and Somalia’s Benadir.

The draw was witnessed by the CECAFA General Secretary Nicholas Musonye, Rwanda FA officials and some officials from the country’s ministry of sports and sponsors.

Musonye revealed that the latest arrival in Kigali for all foreign teams is August 6 and warned that all teams must equip their players with respective FA player licenses while referees’ medical and physical fitness tests will be done in Kigali on August 5 and 6.

The event scheduled between; August 8 – 24 will be hosted at Amahoro stadium in Kigali and Kigali Regional stadium in Nyamirambo.

The full fixtures of the event were not released but will soon be communicated. The winner of the championship will bag $ 30,000 while runners up and third placed team will smile away with $ 20,000 and $ 10,000 respectively.

Group A: Rayon Sport (Rwanda), Young Africans (Tanzania), Coffee (Ethiopia), Atlabara (South Sudan) and KMKM (Zanzibar).

Group B: APR FC (Rwanda), KCC FC (Uganda), Flambeau de I’Est (Burundi), Gor Mahia FC (Kenya) and Telecom (Djibouti)

Group C: Vital’O (Burundi), El Merriekh (Sudan), Police (Rwanda) and Benadir (Somalia)


Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think