Police FC (Rwanda) 1-0 El Merriekh (Sudan)

APR FC (Rwanda) 1-0 Atletico (Burundi)

Rwanda’s Police FC and APR FC made winning CECAFA Kagame Cup starts thanks to 1-0 victories against El Merriekh and Atletico FC entertaining games played at Amahoro stadium

Kipson Atuhairwe was Police FC’s hero scoring the only goal of the game that featured the second of three host nation teams in the tournament.

The number 14 nodded home Tuyisenge Jacques’ ball from the free kick down the right flank after a foul on Jimmy Mbaraga.

Ugandan goalie Jamal Salim was in goal for the Sudan giants who had three other foreign players in their ranks.

In the last game on the day, APR FC needed a late effort from skipper Ismael Nshutimayagara to overcome a resilient Atletico FC of Burundi.

Ex-Proline FC players Andrew Buteera and Charles Tibingana featured for APR FC.

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think