The Uganda Cricket Association Women’s National 40 over League came to a close yesterday with Wanderers emerging Champions.

Having lost the toss, Wanderers were put in to field first and took full advantage. Rebecca Akwenyu did most of the damage picking up four scalps for eight including inform Justine Musubika and Aryemo early on. Julia Karungi added two for 13 rounding off a superb bowling display from Wanderers.

Having chosen to bat, Tornado Captain Franklyn Najjumba could not capitalize on her decision. “The wicket disappointed us and they (Wanderers) took out our on form players Justine and Aryemo early on,” lamented Najjumba.
‘We could have defended the 77 but we let off too many extras and never took advantage of the run outs.”

Najjumba the only player to put on double figures for Tornado (26 off 38 balls in a game were they were dismissed for 77 in 33.2 overs, after which Naomi Kayondo led the successful chase.

The openers Kevin Apio, Rebecca Akwenyu and Janet Mbabazi steadied the innings but none of them kicked on to a big score. It was Kayondo’s 27 Not Out off 63 that sealed a comfortable win for Wanderers.

“It was a tense game and felt a lot of pressure coming on because I knew I had to carry the team to victory. We had bowled well and restricted them to only 77 but had to put runs on the board to better their score. I was worried the ladies might get complacent but glad we pulled it off eventually” explained Kayondo.

A view shared by Wanderers’ coach Sam Walusimbi, “I am elated we won, but would have liked us not to leave it too late. We could have sealed up the trophy last weekend but went to Jinja and collapsed so it was quite nervy at the end.”

“We have done well to defend the trophy especially since we lost three of our players to Tornado and had some retiring from the game which meant we had to bring in new girls who had not played at this level before.”

Focus for both teams turns to the T20 format which starts next weekend

Wanderers 78/7 in 35.4 overs beat Tornado cc 77/10 in 33.2 overs.

Past Winners
2011-Charity Trust Fund CC
2012-Charity Trust Fund CC
2013-Wanderers Cricket Club
2014-Wanderers Cricket Club

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think