Defending Champions Nemostars (Nemoguards), KAVC and Sky were all pooled in the same group ahead of the ninth edition of the UCU Open Volleyball Championship.

Nemostars defeated KAVC at last year’s round of eight before seeing off Sky in the semis, they later defeated Nkumba Navy 3-2 in the final.

KAVC are yet to claim silverware this season, why Sky are yet to replicate the performance that saw them lift the NSSF-KAVC International.

Nemostars have confirmed that they will be having two teams at the Championship though it’s yet to be revealed which players will feature for Nemostars or Nemoguards.

“We won it last year, we want to defend it again, that’s our target to win every tournament we take part in,” said Nemostars’ head coach Anthony Ndawula.

“We are going to have our usual team that has been playing most of the time, then our support players are also going to form the other team, he added.

The Championship is the last open tournament before the NSSF Volleyball League playoff commences on October 11.


POOL A: Nemostars, Cobap, Namboole, UCU Deacons, Destiny

POOL B: Sky, KAVC-B, Nemoguards, UPDF, Sharing

POOL C: Sport-S, OKVC, Laureus, JVC, Makerere, Mattrixx

POOL D: Nkumba VVC, KAVC-B, UCU Doves, Ndejje

Senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering volleyball, football and badminton

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think