Portuguese forward, Cristiano Ronaldo emerged winner at the Ballon d’Or gala held in Zurich on Monday evening beating rival Lionel Messi and World Cup standout goalkeeper, Manuel Nuer.

The Real Madrid maestro picked his third World Player of the year award after an incredible goal laden 2014 campaign that saw him help the Spanish club to their tenth champions league trophy.

FIFA immediately released the voting tally that saw Ronaldo take 37.66% of the vote, Messi second with 15.76% and Nuer third with 15.72%. While voting as captain of Portugal, Ronaldo skipped his rival and selected his Real Madrid teammates; Ramos, Bale and Benzema. His coach at the Portuguese national team voted for him, Nuer and Robben.

Four time winner, Messi also avoided picking Ronaldo opting instead for Di Maria, Iniesta and Macherano. His coach voted for him in first position, Di Maria in second and Macherano in third.

Uganda Cranes coach, Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevich told Kawowo Sports that he voted for Ronaldo (1), Nuer (2) and Messi (3). However, official data released by the world football governing body shows that the Uganda Cranes coach and captain, Andrew Mwesigwa did not vote.

Uganda’s Media representative, Fredrick Musisi Kiyingi however voted for Ronaldo, Nuer and Messi for the first, second and third positions respectively according the released voting tally.

moses magogo ballondor

[PICTURE] Federation of Uganda football Associations president, Moses Magogo at the Ballon d’Or

Kenyan captain, Victor Wanyama selected Cristiano Ronaldo in first place, Yaya Toure in second and Lionel Messi in third. Former Uganda Cranes coach, now head coach of Kenya, Bobby Williamson voted for Thomas Mueller, Andrea Iniesta and Diego Costa. Kenyan media representative, Charles Nyende voted for Ronaldo, Nuer and Messi respectively.

Tanzania head coach, Nooij Mart voted for Robben (1), Messi (2) and Ronaldo (3). His captain, Haroub Nadir voted for Messi, Ronaldo and Mueller. Tanzanian media representative Boniface Wambura voted for Ronaldo, Messi and Mueller.

Rwanda captain, Haruna Niyonzima selected Ronaldo, Toure and Messi in that order. His coach, Stephen Constatine selected Ronaldo, Messi and James Rodriguez. Rwanda media representative, Bonnie Mugabe voted for Ronaldo, Messi and Mueller.

Burundi captain, Saidi Ntibazonkiza voted for Ronaldo (1), Messi (2) and Toure (3). His coach, Willfeld Rainer selected Nuer, Robben and Lahm.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think