Uganda Cup 2014/15 Semi-finals:

BUL F.C 0-1 SC Villa – Kakindu Stadium, Jinja

Sunday, 26th April 2015

Sports Club Villa carry a one goal advantage coming into the second leg of the Uganda Cup semi finals next weekend.

The development follows a 0-1 away victory at the hands of Jinja based premier league side, Bul football club at Kakindu on Sunday evening.

The Jogoos have perfectly defended Denis Kamanzi’s first half strike to build a one goal advantage come the return leg on Sunday, 3rd April 2015.

Midfielder, Augustine Nsumba set up Kamanzi, whose hard hit effort past BUL goal keeper, Franco Oringa 22 minutes into the game put the visitors ahead.

The other semi final ended 1-0 in favour of home side, KCC over Lweza.

Path to Semi Finals:

SC Villa kick started the campaign when they eliminated Kampala regional side, Azam F.C 4-1 in FIFA Post match penalties after a 0-0 draw at Nakivubo stadium in the round of 64.

Busia Fisheries skipped the trip to Nakivubo at the round of 32 before getting the better of Proline in the last 16 teams battle.

Isaac Muleme scored a late goal in extra time to help SC Villa eliminated the 2013 winners, Sports Club Villa in the semi finals.

BUL’s progress:

BUL beat Corporate XI at the 64 stage, edged Kira Young at the last 32, over before overcoming Buganda regional team, Masavu and got the better of Kawempe based Bright Stars 1-2 at the dreaded Mweerere in the quarter finals.

The other semi final first leg shall be played in Kampala at the KCCA Stadium when Lweza visit Kampala City Counicl.

KCC, like SC Villa are also looking for their 9th Uganda Cup title.

The second leg of the semi finals will be played at Nakivubo stadium on Sunday, 3rd March 2015.

The winner of the Uganda Cup represents the country at the CAF Confederations Cup.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976– Gangama F.C

1977– Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/2015 – ???

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think