Nikhil Sachania joins the list of Kenya’s greatest drivers after he was named Motorsport personality of the year 2014 during the Kenya Motorsport Federation Awards gala on Saturday in Nairobi.

The 26 year old Sachania becomes the first disabled competitor to win the fancy motorsport personality of the year award.

“I didn’t expect to win this award and I must admit that it came as a pleasant surprise. It was a very tough but exciting motoring season 2014. So this trophy proves my driving ability,” said Sachania.

On the same event Sachania emotionally hinted on the hard moment before his accident.

“The accident happened in Athi river. I was training to get ready for my first rally raid event. I hit a rock at high speed, landed head first and impacted on my spine,” he narrates

However, Sachania never looked back on rallying despite the accident that almost cost him his life.

“I have always wanted to race no matter what. I love the feeling and I thank my parents for their unswerving support,” he added.

Meanwhile, Karan Patel the former East African AMU 85cc MX champion was named the most improved rally driver, following his victory in KNRC S and division 2 with barely a year in the Motorsport career.

Motocross rider Maxine Wahome scooped the ladies Rose Bowl for the female competitor. Imran Hakada and Manpreet Sagoo were most improved personalities in Autocross and Rally raid respectively.

Speaking at the gala, KMSF Chairman JS Vohra addressed the Kenya Motorsport progress to their dream of making the country leading sports tourism destination in region and helping regain safari famous status.

“Last year we held the historic USN Rally Raid 500 which went down in the folklore as the longest ever raid since the off-road concept was embraced in 2004. Today, Autocross events have become more vibrant and the inclusion of more classes like Bambino which is designed specifically for kids aged 9 years and over. The Introduction of closed stage rallying was a big plus,” he said.


1. Kenya National Motocross Championship 2014

MX50 – Jet Takkunen
MX65 – Maina Wanjigi
MX85 – Elias Sherman
MX125 – Samir Anwar
MX2 – Apollo Mbuki
MX1 – Ivan Guya.
Veterans & Masters – Tim Jessop

2. Kenya National Enduro Championship 2014

Enduro Quad Class – Shazar Anwar
Enduro Overall – Shivam Vinayak
Enduro 125- Shivam Vinayak

3. Autocross

2WD Turbo – Hardeep Rehsi
2WD Non-Turbo – Tejas Hirani
Quads – Charles Mugo
Bambino – Ryan Bailey

4. Kenya National Rally Raid Championship: 2014

Car Class – Driver: Gray Cullen
Car Class – Navigator: Jon Bovard
Motorcycle: Shivam Vinayak
Quad: Shazar Anwar
Buggy – Tejas Hirani/Rohit Bhudia
New Overall Champion: Wangai Kimeria

4. KCB Kenya National Rally Championship 2014

KNRC 2WD navigator – Kigo Kareithi
2WD driver – Leo Varese
Classic Car Cup navigator – Richard Hechle
Classic Car Cup driver – Jonathan Somen
SPV Navigator – Charanjeev Singh
SPV Driver – Nikhil Sachania
Group S Navigator – Tauseef Khan
Group S Driver – Karan Patel
KNRC Div 3 driver – Karan Patel
KNRC Div 3 navigator – Tauseef Khan
KNRC Div 2 driver – Alasdair Keith
KNRC Div 2 Navigator – Tariq Malik;
KNRC Navigator – Ravi Soni,
KNRC Driver – Baldev Singh Chager.


1. Most Improved Motorcycle rider: Zenni Mokaya

2. Most Improved Autocross Driver: Imran Hakada

3. Most Improved Rally Driver: Karan Patel

4. Most Improved Rally Raid Competitor: Manpreet Sagoo

5. Motor Personality of the year: Nikhil Sachania

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think