2015 Entebbe Airport Football League:

Lake Victoria Hotel 1-0 Protea Hotel

The famous Entebbe Airport football league continued with yet another exciting match on Wednesday.

In the hotel derby between nemesis sides, Lake Victoria and Protea, it was not business to discuss who offers the best services, foods and beverages, but rather who plays the best football.

At the end of the day, Lake Victoria Hotel had the last and broadest smile when they overcame Protea 1-0 in the fixture played at the Entebbe Airport play ground.

James Walugembe scored the only goal on the evening in the 32nd minute past goal keeper, Elvis Bwiire in a game of completely contrasting halves.

Lake Victoria completely dominated the opening stanza of the game before the ‘issues’ turned against them as Protea raided their goal like an angry mob rallying against a known town habitual thug.

At some stage, Protea would even have made amends had Eddie Nambafu’s last minute penalty not hit the cross bar with goal keeper Mark Balayo already beaten.

The Entebbe Airport league manager, Edward Mugyenyi sings praise of the companies that have sacrificed time and resources to participate in this league.

We started this league basically to network as well as provide a platform to exercise. I thank all the participating companies

Mugyeni remarks.

Meanwhile, Airport Taxi Operators will turn the ‘guns’ against their land lords, Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) on Thursday.

CAA are two time winners of this tournament having clinched the title in the years, 2012 and 2013 before their run was halted last year.

Team Line Ups:

Lake Victoria Hotel:

Mark Balayo (G.K), Simon Migadde, Steven Dikusoka, James Mafabi, James Walugembe, Sam Mwambu, Frank Aluma, Robert Ojooko, Joseph Kasule, Julius Kiwanuka, Yasin Arafat, Karim Magombe, Hadard Mubede, Nalima Luku, Simon Kawesi, Ignatius Sserujongi, Stephen Adule.

 Head Coach: Badru Egesa

Protea Hotel:

Elvis Bwire (G.K), Ambrose Efwi, Konele Ismail, Joseph Mazinga, Daniel Sembusi, Jimmy Sebunya, Samuel Katumba, Ronald Semakula, Joseph Senyondo, Derrick Kato, Eddy Namabafu, Alex Manzi, Nalid Musamba, Emmanuel Birungi, Brian Masheta, Fred Kajuki, Patrick Openji.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think