Defending champion Deo Akope has been paired with Kenya’s Anil Shah and Swaziland’s Arthur Horne Junior at the 10th edition of the Tusker Malt sponsored Uganda Professionals Open Golf Championship at the par 72 Kitante course at the Uganda Golf Club that tees off tomorrow.

Akope winner of the 9th edition last year will tee off at 10.06 am alongside Kenya’s national amateur golf team coach Anil Shah with Arthur Horne Junior of Swaziland.

Debutantes Phillip Kasozi, will line up against Gift Willy from Nigeria and Stefan Engel Andersen from Kenya who will tee off at 11.34am while Peter Sendaula will play alongside Tony Omuli and David Wakhu from Kenya.

2014 Uganda Amateur Open Golf Champion Willy Deus Kitata, will play with Zimbabwean Tongoona Charamba and Amateur player Becca Mwanja at 11.10am

The professionals will play a total of 72 rounds over four days with a cut being made after two rounds of action the players have a kitty of 100 million shillings with the winner walking away with 30 million.

Debut boy Willy Deus Kitata, plays alongside Zimbabwean Tongoona Charamba and Amateur golf star Becca Mwanja

The last two editions of the Open have been won by Ugandans with Vicent Byamukama winning in 2013 and Akope last year however Kenya’s Dismas Indiza has won the Open four times in 2007, 2008,2011, 2012, while Richard Ainley won the tournament in 2009 and Rwanda’s Jean Baptiste Hakizimana won it in 2010.

The Uganda Amateur Open Golf Champion Ronald Otile while play alongside Kenya’s Richard Ainley and Silver Opio.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply