38th CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup:

21st November – 5th December 2015

  • In Ethiopia

Uganda Cranes head coach, Milutin Sredojevic has released the full list of 20 players set to represent the country at the 2015 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.

After three training days the coach has surprising left out strikers Brian Umony and Robert Sentongo as he opted for the youth blend of KCCA F.C forward, Nelson Senkatuka and on colour Express striker Ceaser Okhuti.

Sentongo’s passport is in the process of renewal but it is not clear why Umony, who plays with St George in the Ethiopian League has been left behind.

Frank Kalanda and Erisa Ssekisambu are the two other strikers on the 20 man team.

Three goalkeepers, James Alitho, Ismail Watenga (both from Vipers) and Bright Stars’ Mathias Kigonya make the team.

Defender, Joseph Nsubuga makes a return to the national team set up following a career threatening injury since the CAF U-23 qualifiers.

Farouk Miya will skipper the team in the two week tournament.

Micho has clearly hinted the CECAFA team is a preparatory mechanism for the upcoming CHAN 2016 tournament and Uganda’s AFCON Group D remaining qualifiers.

We are preparing the team for our future engagements.

The team to Ethiopia has only one professional in Simba Sports Club’s calm defender, Murushid Jjuuko.

Uganda is in Group B alongside Kenya, Burundi and Zanzibar.

Uganda opens with first match on Sunday 22nd November, 2015 against arch rivals Kenya in Addis Ababa

The second game for Uganda comes on Tuesday, 24th November 2015 in Awassa City against Zanzibar before the last group game on Saturday, 28th November when they play against Burundi, still in Awassa.

The 2014 CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup didn’t take place after none of the 12 member countries expressed interest in hosting the tournament on short notice.

Uganda is the record winner with 13 titles followed by reigning champions Kenya with six.

The Full Team:

Goalkeepers: James Alitho, Mathias Kigonya, Ismail Watenga

Defenders: Denis Okot, Joseph Nsubuga, Murushid Jjuko, Shafiq Bakaki, Richard Kassaga, Hassan Wasswa Dazo, Joseph Ochaya, Isaac Muleme, Benard Muwanga

Midfielders: Ivan Ntege, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Kizito Keziron, Faruku Miya

Strikers: Erisa Ssekisambu, Ceaser Okhuti, Frank Kalanda, Nelson Senkatuka

2015 CECAFA Groups:
Group A: Ethiopia, Rwanda, Tanzania and Somalia
Group B: Kenya, Uganda, Burundi and Zanzibar
Group C: Sudan, Malawi, South Sudan and Djibouti

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think