41st Mukwano Golf Open:

Amateur Winner: Adolf Muhumuza (68 Gross)

Pro Winner: Phillip Kasozi (68 Gross)

At a time when the Uganda national team golfers were in Kigali for the successful East African Golf challenge title defence, the golfing fraternity was torn between Entebbe and Toro clubs for the Mug of Mugs and Mukwano open championships respectively.

Two former national team skippers Adolf Muhumuza and Phillip Kasozi had the best and broadest smiles at the 9 hole Toro golf club in Fort portal during the Mukwano open.

Muhumuza capitalized on the familiar home course conditions to win the amateurs event as Phillip Kasozi toppled the rest of the professionals in the paid ranks category.

Enroute his victory, Muhumuza scored two under par 68 gross to topple a field of other 80 golfers.

He registered six birdies on holes 4, 6, 7, 11, 13 and 18 with boggy scores on 8, 14, 15, 17 and the rest were par scores.

The handicap 00 golfer, who also won the 2010 version attributed his victory to the holding greens after the down pour shortly before tee off;

The early rains played to my advantage. I could play my balls where i wanted and it is no accident that i emerged the winner

Another Fort Portal home bred talent, Denis Asaba scored one over par 71 gross to take second place.

Defending champion, Ronald Otile could not defend his title because he was away with the national team in Kigali where Uganda successfully defended the East African Golf Challenge.

On the professionals side, Uganda Golf Club based pro golfer, Phillip Kasozi beat 12 other golfers to claim the top spot and a lion’s share of the Ug.shs 2M kitty courtesy of the sponsors, Mukwano group of companies limited.

Like the amateur winner, Kasozi was two under par with a gross score of 68, beating the previous year’s winner two Entebbe based pros Vincent Byamukama and Silver Opio by a single stroke.

Vincent Byamukama had won the 2014 professional version.

Some of the previous Winners:

2014: Ronald Otile

2013: Daniel Baguma

2010: Adolf Muhumuza

2007: Vincent Byamukama

2006: Stephen Kasaija

2005: Stephen Kasaija

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply