CHAN 2016: 16th January – 7th February (Rwanda)

A month ahead of the 2016 CHAN championship in Rwanda, the Nigeria Super Eagles team head coach, Sunday Ogorchukwu Oliseh, released a strong 26-man squad to embark on preparations for the tourney meant for locally based players.

The tournament will take effect in four Rwandan venues between 16th January and 7th February 2015.

According to, Oliseh has included the league top scorer, Gbolahan Salam (with 17 goals) of Warri Wolves football club.

Others are Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Thomas Olufemi (goalkeepers), Kalu Orji, Austin Oboroakpo, Jamiu Alimi (defenders), Ifeanyi Mathew, Paul Onobi, Usman Mohammed and Bature Yaro (midfielders), Ezekiel Bassey, Tunde Adeniji, Chisom Chikatara and Prince Aggrey (forwards).

Nigeria was drawn in group C alongside Niger, Tunisia and Guinea, and will be based at the Kigali Regional Stadium, Nyamirambo.

According to the Whistler, a Lagos based web portal, Nigeria has booked a friendly game against Cote d’lvoire on 9th January 2016 in Pretoria, South Africa.

The team starts training on Monday, 14th December 2015 under assistant coach Salisu Yusuf as Oliseh continues the road to recovery in Belgium where he traveled for medication.

The Super Eagles won the bronze medal at the last African Nations Championship held in South Africa in early 2014, the fourth edition of the African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Uganda is pooled in group D alongside Zimbabwe, Zambia and Mali.


Group A: Rwanda, Côte d’Ivoire, Morocco, Gabon

Group B: DRC, Ethiopia, Cameroon, Angola

Group C: Tunisia, Guinea, Niger, Nigeria

Group D: Zimbabwe, Zambia, Uganda, Mali

The full Nigeria Team:

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Sunshine Stars), Olufemi Thomas (Enyimba), David Obiazor (Heartland), Okemute Odah (Warri Wolves)

Defenders: Kalu Orji (Enugu Rangers), Austin Oboroakpo (Warri Wolves), Jamiu Alimi (3SC), Mathew Etim (Enugu Rangers), Stephen Eze (Sunshine Stars), Chima Akas (Sharks), Chris Madaki (Giwa FC)

Midfielders: Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors), Paul Onobi (Sunshine Stars), Usman Mohammed (FC Taraba), Bature Yaro (Nasarawa United), Osas Okoro (Enugu Rangers), Bartholomew Ibenegbu (Warri Wolves), Julius Ubido (Heartland FC), Ibrahim Salawa Attah (3SC), Christian Madu (Enugu Rangers)

Forwards: Ezekiel Bassey (Enyimba FC), Gbolahan Salami (Warri Wolves), Tunde Adeniji (Sunshine Stars), Bright Onyedikachi (FC IfeanyiUbah), Chisom Chikatara (Abia Warriors), Prince Aggrey (Sunshine Stars)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think