16th Inter-University Games:

  • Overall Winners: Ndejje University (14 Gold, 6 Silver & 3 Bronze)
  • 1st Runners up: UCU (5 Gold, 6 Silver & 6 Bronze)
  • 2nd Runners up: Nkumba University (4 Gold, 2 Silver & 1 Bronze)

For the third time in a row, Ndejje University claimed the overall bragging rights at the National University Games.

During the 16th Edition of the biennial games, the Luweero based institution garnered a total of 23 medals, 14 of which were gold, 6 silver and 3 bronze to beat 18 other universities to the top gong.

Uganda Christian University closely followed with a total of 17 medals – 5 gold, 6 silver and bronze medals apiece.

Entebbe road based Nkumba University finished with a total of 7 medals; 4 of these gold, 2 silver and one bronze medal.

Ndejje University sports tutor, Paul Mark Kayongo attributed the victory to adequate preparations;

We have been training well since the previous edition. We have a policy of good scouting to replace the graduated sportsmen. I thank the university sports management for supporting sports wholesomely.

How Ndejje made it:

Ndejje was unstoppable in football (Men), both genders in Swimming, Table Tennis, Athletics, Woodball, Darts, Badminton, Karate and Handball.

UCU won gold in Rugby (Men), women football, Chess, Lawn Tennis, both genders of basketball and dethroned Nkumba in the much sought netball event.

Other Sports:

Busitema won gold in the newly introduced Omweso game (Male and Female), Nkumba University clinched the men volleyball accolade, beach soccer (Men), Handball (Women) KU won women football and

Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) won their only gold at the games in Lawn Tennis.

Now Ndejje University has now won the championships three times in succession – 2011, 2013 and 2015.

Makerere University by far remains the record winners with 12 massive titles since the games’ inception in 1992.

The next games will be held in 2017. The host venue will be communicated in the due course after the AUUS Executive Committee meeting.

All Winners:

1.       1992MAKMAKERERE
2.       1993ITEKMAKERERE
3.       1995IUIUMAKERERE
4.       1996ITEKMAKERERE
5.       1997MAKMAKERERE
6.       1998MUSTMAKERERE
8.       2001MAKMAKERERE









David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply