16th Inter-University Games: Football

  • Finals: Ndejje University 1 (4) – 1 (2) IUIU
  • Third Place: Kyambogo 0-1 UMU, Nkozi

Penalties in football are regarded a real lottery. The most prepared team psychologically and physically always wins the day.

When Ndejje University faced Islamic University in Uganda (IUIU) during the football final on a wet Busoga University main ground turf, either teams were prepared for the task at hand.

After a barren 45 minutes of action of the mid morning Monday fixture, the game lit to life when Musa Ssewanyana gave IUIU the lead on 68 minutes.

The celebrations from the players and technical bench communicated a done deal.

Call it on undue excitement, Ndejje University took only 60 seconds to make amends when Hamdan Muwonge beat goalie, Gideon Koli for the equalizer.

The rest of the game remained static in terms of the goal tally and penalties had to set in to separate the two sides and determine the winner.

Ishaaq Mukalazi and Hamis Wambuzi missed their opening two kicks for IUIU meanwhile Paul Ddumba and Steven Ategeka successfully scored for Ndejje.

Musa Ssewanyana pulled one back for IUIU, meanwhile Albert Mugisa stretched Ndejje’s lead to three goals.

Ndejje goalkeeper, Hannington Ssebwalunyo hit the post on the fourth kick for the Luweero side to give IUIU slight ray of hope.

Osman Miragi then converted for IUIU but Hamdan Muwonge held his cool to calmly slot the winning penalty and hand Ndejje University their second consecutive football crown.


Harunah Kebbah – IUIU Head Coach:

It is hard luck, we took the lead but missed the chance. That is football.

Raymond Komakech – Ndejje University Head Coach

I am excited about the victory. We proved we are true champions right from the opening game to the final.

Team line ups:

Ndejje University:

Hannington Ssebwalunyo (G.K), Paul Ddumba, Fred Kigozi, Abutulula Mwima, Ronald Okokonyero,  Rogers Buluba, Elisa Lutaaya, Albert Mugisa, Steven Ategeka, Anywar Ntege, Tonny Kasujju


Muzamiru Odoch (G.K), Ronald Kizza, Hamdan Muwonge, Alfred Onek, Daniel Omara, Samuel Matovu

Head coach: Raymond Komakech


Gideon Koli (G.K), Muhammed Nakiibi, Julius Mpologoma, Mansuru Giriga, Emmanuel Kayemba, Musa Ssewanyana, Aaron Kiwanuka, Ishaaq Mukalazi, Alimansi Wambuzi, Faiswal Bukenya, Osman Miragi


Hamis Miiro (G.K), Ibrahim Kirya, Adam Abduallah, Asiram Kironde, Faisal Baluu, Ibrahim Gidudu

Head Coach: Harunah Kebba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think