Gabon and Borussia Dortmund goal machine Pierre Emerick Aubameyang beat Yaya Toure and Ghana’s Andre Ayew to the African Player of the Award whilst Tanzania’s Samatta won the coveted prize for the player of the year based on the continent at the gala held in Nigeria.

For Aubameyang, he became the first man from his nation to achieve the feat while Samatta didn’t only become the first Tanzanian to achieve the feat but also the first man from East Africa.

Following a successful Glo-CAF Awards Ceremony held at the International Conference Centre in Abuja, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has revealed how national Football Associations voted.

In the main category, Uganda Cranes Coach Mulitin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic gave his fifth vote to Egyptian Mohammad Salah, and then Senegal’s Sadio Mane followed in fourth while he voted Ghana’s Andre Ayew in third place.

In second and first, the Serb voted for Ivorian Yaya Toure and eventual winner Pierre Emerick Aubameyang.

In the award for the player based in Africa, Micho voted for TP Mazembe goalie Robert Kidiaba as his number five followed by Baghdad Bounedjah in fourth, Kermit Erasmus as third, eventual winner Mbwana Ally Samatta second and Moudather El Tahir as first.  

Senior Staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering football

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think