CHAN 2016 – Group A:

Gabon 0-0 Morocco

Gabon and Morocco played to a goalless draw in the second Group A CHAN game played under floodlights at the Amahoro Stadium in Kigali.

The two sides remained tactical for long spells of the game of virtually limited scoring opportunities. Abdeladim Khadrouf had a half chance forty minutes into the first half but his shot after a well chested ball flew wide of goal.

Gabon had an equal chance with Biyoghe’s acrobat shot on the volley driven high of the goal posts. In the second half, El Mobaraky tested Gabonese veteran goalie and captain, Stephane Moto, with a curling effort which was an easy collection for the shot stopper.


Gabon head coach, Stephane Bounguendza brought off an impressive Knox Ness Younga for Aaron Salem Boupendza before he introduced introduced the 17 year old AS Pelican forward Mario Bernard Mandrault comes in for Romuald Ewouta.

Another AS Pelican striker, Allen Dorian Nono came in for Lionel Richie Yackouya with five minutes left on the clock. Nono missed target from a header minutes after his introduction.

His Moroccan counterpart, Mhamed Fakhir called for Abdelilah Hafidi change in the place of Mohamed Ounnajem before Zakaria Hadraf replaced Abdessalam Benjelloun.

With less than two minute of normal time, Ahmed Jahouh came in the place of El-Mobarky in Morocco’s third and final change. With the draw, Rwanda stays top of group A as both Gabon and Morocco share the joint second slot.

Cote D’Ivoire, who lost the opener to Rwanda is sited bottom with no point fetched thus far.

Team line ups:

Gabon XI: Yves Stephane Bitseki Moto (G.K), Georges Ambourouet, Knox Ness Younga, Tchen Djesnot Kabi, Romuald Ntsitsigui Ewouta, Cedric Ondo Biyoghe, Franck P. Obambou, Cyrille Saint Etienne Engozo’o Avebe, Prince Junior Ndinga Ongolo, Lionel Richie Yackouya, Rodrigue Moundougua

Subs: Edmond Mouele, Kombo Pongui Kombo, Allen Dorian Nono, Abdou Djamilou Atchabao, Wils Vladmir Aworet Ogoula, Mario Bernard Mandrault, Laurhian Kantsouga, Aaron Salem Boupendza, Stephane Heyong Essono, Stevy Guevane Nzambe, Yann Jose Gnassa Mangonda, Paulin Nzambi Ngouerange

Morocco XI: Mohammed Amine Bourkadi (G.K), Jawad El Yamiq, Abderrahim Achchakir, Brahim Nakach (C),Abdessalam Benjelloun, Abdessamad El Mobaraky, Abdeladim Khadrouf, Anass Lamrabat, Mohamed Oulhaj, Marwane Saadane, Abdelilah Hafidi

Subs: El Mehdi El Bassil, Mohammed Abarhoun, Mohammed Ounnajem, Zakaria Hadraf, Abdelaali Mhamdi, Abdelghani Mouaoui, Mohammed Aziz, Mourad Batna, Ahmed Jahouh, Adil Karrouchy, Abdelrrahman El-Houasli, Issam Erraki

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think