CHAN 2016 Finals: Group D – Tuesday, 19th January 2016

  • Mali Vs Uganda – Umuganda Stadium – 6 p.m Rwanda Time (7 p.m Uganda)

When Uganda Cranes faces Mali at the lake side Tourist town of Rubavu on the newly refurbished astro turf of Umuganda stadium, two players of the 23 who traveled for the tournament will not be available for selection.

The players in question are midfielders, Ivan Ntege and Hassan Wasswa Dazo.

CAF has already issued a communiqué to FUFA concerning the status of the two players who are ruled out because of suspensions.

Wasswa was red carded in the first leg for a tactical foul of the final CHAN qualifier against Sudan at Nakivubo last November.

Hard tackling yet diminutive player, Ivan Ntege misses out due to accumulated yellow cards over the two legs in the qualifiers.


Head coach, Micho, well aware of the development since the last year has been trying new formations with KCCA defender, Timothy Dennis Awany being deployed as a ‘make shift anchorman’.

‘We are prepared physically, technically and mentally. Anybody on the team among the 23 players who traveled can play’ Micho is quoted to have said earlier.

Wasswa’s natural replacement, Bernard Muwanga has already acclimatized to the team setting since the return leg of the CHAN qualifier in Sudan.

Muwanga also had a marvelous CECAFA senior challenge cup but he was played mainly a defensive midfielder for a long spell.

Uganda conducted their first training at Umuganda on Sunday evening and will on Monday evening have the official training session ahead of Monday’s group D encounter against Mali.

At the moment, the head coach has kept the rough sketch of the team he will field closer to his chest.

The 23 Uganda Cranes players in Rwanda:

Goalkeepers: James Alitho (Vipers S.C), Mathias Kigonya (Bright Stars F.C), Ismail Watenga (Vipers F.C)

Defenders: Denis Okot (KCCA FC), Richard Kasagga Jjuuko (URA F.C), Joseph Nsubuga (Bright Stars), Isaac Muleme (SC Villa Jogoo), Hassan Wasswa Dazzo (KCCA FC), Timothy Awany (KCCA), Joseph Ochaya (KCCA F.C), Bernard Muwanga (Bright Stars FC),

Midfielders: Ivan Ntege (KCCA FC), Ambrose Kirya (SC Villa Jogoo), Keziron Kizito (Vipers), Mutyaba Muzamil (KCCA FC),  Faruku Miya (Vipers), Martin Kiiza (SC Villa Jogoo)

Strikers: Robert Ssentongo (URA), Geoffrey Sserunkuma (Lweza), Frank Kalanda (URA), Samson Ceasar Okhuti (KCCA FC), Edirisa Lubega (Proline Soccer Academy), Erisa Sekisambu (Vipers SC)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply