CHAN 2016 Quarter Final:

Cote D’Ivoire 3-0 Cameroon

Cote D’Ivoire has joined Democratic Republic of Congo as the first two countries to book their semi final places at the on-going African Nations Championship in Rwanda.

Cote D’Ivoire overcame fellow West Africans, Cameroon 3-0 in a well contested but tactical affair played under floodlights at the Huye stadium, South of Kigali on Saturday night.

It is difficult to imagine the final score-line especially when normal time of play was well balanced and ended goalless. 

Only Ivorian skipper Yao Serge was closest with a 19th minute attempt kissing the goal post.

FIFA referee, Joshua Bondo of Botswana then called for the additional 30 minutes of extra time.

The Ivorians returned a different entity from the team that played in normal time.

Second half substitute, Davy Koffi Mahinde Boua who turns out for Association Sportive Tanda broke the deadlock five minutes into the first half of extra time with a powerful header past goalkeeper, Patrick Hugo Nyame.

Six minutes later, crowds’ darling, Hemann Junior Atcho Djobo met Yannick Zakri’s cross from the right to double the lead and spark wild celebrations from the partisan but lively Huye crowd.

Serge scored the third goal, arguably the best strike of the tournament from over 40 yards away from goal.

Cameroon never recovered as they bow out to join hosts Rwanda and the earlier sides knocked out in the group stages.

There are two other quarter-final games to be played on Sunday before the rest days on Monday and Tuesday. The semi-finals shall be played on Wednesday and Thursday in Kigali.

Team Line Ups:

Cameroon XI: Patrick Hugo Nyame (G.K), Joseph Jonathan Ngwem, Paul Serge Atangana Mvondo, Mohammed Djetei, Anthony Kevin Mfede Junior, Yazid Emane Atouba, Samuel Nlend, Nicolas Brice Ngamaleu Moumi, Alexandre Kombi Mandjang Mougui, Stephen Kingue Mpondo, Samuel Oum Gouet

Subs: Pierre Slyvain Abogo (G.K), Aaron Mbimbe II, Moussa Souleymanou, Armel Lionel Ngondji Ngondji, Harouna Mahamat, Constantin Mogou, Frank Thierry Boya, Mark Mkongho O’ojong, Nicholas Owono Mbassegue, Francis Ambane Moubourou, Carlain Manga Mbah, Derick Fru Anye

Head Coach: Martin Mpile Ndtoungou (Cameroon)

Cote D’Ivoire XI: Ali Sangare Badra (G.K), Marcelin Koffi, Marc Mahan Goua, Essis Aka Fulgence Baudelaire, Soualio Dabila Ouattarra, Hemann Junior Djobo Atcho, Yannick Zakri Krahire, Yace Marius Gregoire Okpekon, Yao Serge N’guessan, Franck Guiza Djedje, Cheick Ibrahim Comara

Subs: Drissa Bamba (G.K), Dagou Willie Anderson Britto, Badie Gbagnon, Adama Kangoute, Davy Koffi Mahinde Boua, Diallo Kouame Romuald Cedric Kouassi, Dominique Anderson Mevy, Wassawaly Eric Michel Toh, Nilmar Treika Mondesir Ble, Inza Diabate, Soualiho Coulibaly, Abdoul Karim Cisse

Head Coach: Michel Dussuyer (France) Match Officials:

Match Officials:

Referee: Joshua Bondo (Botswana)

1st Assistant Referee: Arsenio Chadreque Marengula (Mozambique)

2nd Assistant Referee: Mark Ssonko (Uganda)

Reserve Referee: Davis Ogenche Omweno (Kenya)

Commissioner: Osama Hassan (Sudan)

General Coordinator: Mohamed Guessous (Mauritius)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think