The Victoria Racing Track in Garuga hosted the highly anticipated opening round of the National Motocross Championship on Sunday and the racing spectacle did not fall short of expectation as riders showed eagerness to take the early lead in their respective classes.
It was most of last year’s winners that picked up from where they had left off in 2015. 

Maxime Van Pee, Fatuh Kiggundu, Ali Omar, Ben Nsumba, Stav Orland, Alon Orland and William Blick topped their classes with dominating rides.

The reigning MX1 Champion Van Pee easily claimed victory in his class. He swept all the three heats although he had the former African Champion Ross Branch setting the pace.

“It was a nice race. It has proved to me that I have improved after competing with Ross,” Van Pee told Kawowo Sports.

Arthur Blick Jr and Talha Kiggundu finished in second and third respectively.

Fatuh Kiggundu was impressiveon his new bike; topping all the three heats in the MX2 class. Luka Phillips and Alestair Blick claimed second and third places.

Despite suffering an injury days to the event,  Ali Omar bore the pain from his leg to win the 125cc.

Ben Nsumba benefited from Aviv Orland’s misfortunes to win the  MX85 class followed by Wazir Omar and Fortune Sentamu.

Aviv was leading but suffered a fall that ended his race and day.

However, Stav and Alon Orland camouflaged their elder brothers misfortunes by sweeping all heats in the 65cc and 50cc respectively.

stav orlando

Stav is undeniably the next 65cc champion after fending off all his competitors by a wider margin.

“I enjoyed the race. I feel so much comfortable now in the 65cc thats why it was easy for me to win,” said Stav.

Meanwhile, Alon had to battle out the 2015 MX50 champion Isabella Blick and Gift Sebuguzi to the class win.

William Blick took the lead in the MX50 (peewee) class followed by Miguel Katende and Kawthara Balinda.

The second round will take place on March 20th in Busiika.


Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think