Uganda Cup 2015/16:

  • Soana F.C 1 (5) – 0 (4) BUL F.C
  • Maroons F.C 1 (7) – 1 (8) Bright Stars F.C

Soana Football Club’s dream of winning their maiden Uganda Cup title and representing the country at the CAF Confederation Cup is much alive.

This follows the Kavumba based club’s 5-4 post penalty victory over Jinja side Bul F.C on Tuesday.

Normal time had ended one goal apiece for either sides.

Milton Karisa put the visitors inside the opening 60 seconds of the very first minute in the first half.

Five minutes after re-start, an on-form Musa Esenu, a mid season recruit for Soana from MUBS replied in familiar fashion in the 50th minute.

 In the tense shoot outs; Franco Oringa foiled Geofrey Ssimbwa’s opening penalty to give temporary advantage to Bul.

William Kavuma, Dan Wagaluka, Mike Kakembo, Simon Okwi and Musa Esenu successfully scored for Soana.

Phillip Sempira, Mike Kawooya, James Kasibante and Johnson Wakalita were on target for BUL but Hakim Magombe and Derrick Walulya were stopped by goalie Geofrey Wakabu.

bul fcXI

BUL F.C XI that started the game against Soana F.C

The second round of 16 match played on the same day saw Bright Stars book a quarter final berth after winning 8-7 on penalties.

Normal time had also ended one goal for either clubs. Anthony Bongole scored for Bright Stars and former Kira Young forward, Patrick Kaddu replied for Maroons.

The other round of 16 matches will be played at dates to the communicated by the FUFA Competitions department.

SC Villa is the defending champion of the Uganda Cup having defeated KCCA F.C 3-0 in a one sided final played at Namboole after the first one which had been slated for Ntungamo flopped.

The winner of the Uganda Cup qualifies to play at the CAF Confederations cup.

Line Ups:

Soana F.C XI:

Godfrey Wakabu (G.K), Geofrey Ssimbwa, Samuel Oguttu, Timothy Musinguzi, Yubu Kizza, Abdullah Nyanzi, Allan Kayuwa, Siraje Turyamureemba, Simon Okwi, Musa Esenu

Subs: Erick Dhaira (G.K), Dan Wagaluka, Hamis Kitagenda, Edward Kakembo, Shafiq Nana Kakeeto, Ahmed Ssebagala, Eddie Luhweza


Oringa Franco (GK), George Kayondo, Mike Kawoya, Derrick Walulya, Hashim Sempala, Karisa Milton, Osama Wejuli Farouk, Kiiza David, Buni Godfrey, Kasibante James, Sempira Phillip.

Subs: Emmanuel Kalyowa (G.K), Deo Otheino, Hakim Magombe, Jonathan Katende, Johnson Wakalaita, Yunus Sibira, Geofrey Luutu

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think