Nominated twice, Uganda Cranes’ goalkeeper Denis Onyango can join the national team in Zimbabwe on Tuesday Shs20m richer if he wins the two categories he is nominated in at the Premier Soccer League (PSL) Awards slated for May 30 at the Emperor’s Palace in Kempton Park.

The Mamelodi Sundowns’ shot stopper who is currently nursing a hamstring injury is nominated twice. He is nominated alongside Moeneeb Josephs (Bidvest Wits) and Shu-aib Walters (MP Black Aces) in the goalkeeper of the year category.

The Uganda Cranes vice-captain who at the beginning of this year was voted by the Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) as the Male Footballer of the Year Award will walk away with about Shs10.7m if he wins the award.

The gigantic custodian is also nominated alongside teammates Bongani Zungu and Thabo Nthethe as the Player of the Tournament in the Telkom Knockout category, again the winner will bag Shs10.7m.

Onyango had a wonderful season, leading Sundowns to their seventh league title and the Telkom Knockout as they defeated Kaizer Chiefs 3-1 in a final he saved two penalties.

The Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season will go home with about Shs32m while the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season will walk away with about Shs16m

Keagan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season
Keagan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season
Moeneeb Josephs (Bidvest Wits)
Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Shu-aib Walters (MP Black Aces)

Absa Premiership Defender of the Season
Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)
Vuyo Mere (Platinum Stars)
Thabo Nthethe (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season
Keagan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal
Mpho Makola (Orlando Pirates) – vs Chippa: 18/08/15 – (84 min goal)
Ben Motshwari (Bidvest Wits) vs Chippa: 10/01/2016
Thabo Rakhale (Orlando Pirates) vs MP Aces: 21/02/2016

Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season
Rivaldo Coetzee (Ajax Cape Town)
Sello Jaftha (Free State Stars)
Aubrey Maphosa Modiba (MP Black Aces)

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season
Gavin Hunt (Bidvest Wits)
Muhsin Ertugral (MP Black Aces)
Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

TELKOM KNOCKOUT: Player of the Tournament
Bongani Zungu (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Thabo Nthethe (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns)


Nedbank Cup Young Player of Tournament
Oscarine Masuluke (Baroka FC)
Ndivhuwo Ravhuhali (Baroka FC)
Dumisani Ngwenya (Baroka FC)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament
Jeremy Brockie (SuperSport United)
Jacky Motshegwa (Baroka FC)
Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates)

MTN8 Last Man Standing
George Lebese (Kaizer Chiefs)
Cecil Lolo (Ajax Cape Town)
Ndiviwe Mdabuka (Ajax Cape Town)

Khayelihle Shozi (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Liam Jordaan (Bidvest Wits)
Sibusiso Sibeko (L.Golden Arrows)

Senior staff writer at Kawowo Sports mainly covering volleyball, football and badminton

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply