2015/16 Uganda Cup Final:

  • Vipers Vs Onduparaka
  • Saturday, June 18 – Nakivubo Stadium (4 p.m) 
  • Entry Fees: 5000/- (Ordinary), 10,000/- (Covered Wings) & 20,000/- (VIP). Gates open by 10 a.m

Follow Live updates on Kawowo Sports (Facebook & Twitter)

Knock out cup tournaments world over are very thrilling, unpredictable and often a great plat form where the minnows challenge for honours with the so called big wigs.

English side Nottingham Forest provides the best example of all.

In the 1978-79 European Cup, Forest had already knocked out the then current holders Liverpool and the German champions FC Köln on their way to the final in Munich.

In the Olympic Stadium, they defeated Malmo 1-0 thanks to a Trevor Francis header.

Quickly back home here, Onduparaka, a club that has just been promoted to the top tier league has defied all the odds this season to reach the 42nd final of the Uganda Cup.

Inspired by immensely talented players and a supportive crowd, they eagerly await Vipers, who have never won this tournament despite reaching playing in two previous cup finals.

Team News:


The Kitende based club kick started their Uganda Cup mission on 17th February 2016 when they played Bukedea Town Council in the Round of 64 tie.

They overcame the Big League side 2-1 before facing another club in the same division (Kasese New Villa) at the stage of 32.

They have scored 13 goals in six matches with the highest score coming at the Round of 16 stage when they came from a goal down to whip Airtel Kitara 4-1 at the Boma play ground in Hoima.

Erisa Ssekisambu is the club’s leading scorer with six goals to his name.

On Wednesday they played and won a friendly 3-0 against Mulendwe at Nakivubo Stadium.

Kizito Kezironi has two with four other individual scorers with a goal apiece – William Wadri, Joseph Ssemujju, Allan Kyambadde and Alfred Leku.

Vipers only lost one game, the return leg of the semi-final to KCCA played at Buikwe last Sunday.

On Wednesday, Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) threw out a petition Vipers had lodged trying to block sharp shooter Muhammad ‘Jaggarson’ Shaban from featuring in the final since he had been registered with Vipers at the U-17 level.

Their Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Peter Lwanga has already drawn the first blood with a strong warning to the Arua boys;

We are Vipers. We Spike venom. The Vipers will spike the Caterpillars

Key player: Erisa ‘Keith’ Ssekisambu

He has scored goals for fun for the club.

He is targeting the third consecutive Uganda Cup gold medal after successes with Uganda Revenue Authority and Sport Club Villa Jogoo in the yester-years.

Probable Vipers XI : Ismael Watenga (G.K), Nicholas Wadada, Dan Birikwalira, Shafik Bakaki, Halid Lwaliwa, Siraje Sentamu, Deus Bukenya, Keziron Kizito, Erisa Sekisambu, Alfred Leku, Joseph Semujju

Subs: James Alitho (G.K), (Hassan Kalega, William Wadri, Pius Wanji, Mike Mutyaba

Vipers journey to the Uganda Cup final:

Round of 64: Bukedea Town Council 1-2 Vipers (Scorers: Kizito Kezironi and William Wadri) – 17th February 2016

Round of 32: Kasese New Villa 0-2 Vipers (Scorers: Joseph Ssemujju and Erisa Ssekisambu) – 17th March 2016

Round of 16: Airtel-Kitara 1-4 Vipers (Scorers: Billy Herbert Alinda – [Airtel Kitara], Erisa Ssekisambu X2, Kezironi Kizito and Allan Kyambadde) –

Quarter final: Vipers 2-0 Hope Doves – 25th April 2016 (Scorer: Erisa Ssekisambu X2)


1st Leg: KCCA 0-2 Vipers (Nakivubo Stadium) – Alfred Leku and Erisa Ssekisambu

2nd Leg: Vipers 0-1 KCCA (Buikwe Stadium) – Derrick Nsibambi


The Arua side might have even shocked themselves with the incredible performance.

Indeed they are the tournament dark horses having eliminated the defending champions, Sports Club Villa Jogoo in penalties after a goalless draw at the Round of 32 stage.

Before this, they had endured another nail biting penalty shoot-out against Masavu in Arua.

They registered their biggest score at home against Entebbe, winning 4-0 in the second leg of the semi-finals.

Muhammed Shaban, also the club’s captain is the top scorer with seven goals to his personal account.

They have scored 12 goals from open play and won the shoot out twice with two draws – one goalless and another ending one goal apiece.

The club arrived in Kampala on Wednesday evening and stayed at Kisaasi.

They held their first session at Kyambogo University on Thursday morning.

Onduparaka head coach, Allan Kabonge Kivewala, who also won the Uganda Cup as a player for Victors in the 2009/10 season told Kawowo Sports;

We are not taking chances. We came in early to avoid the journey fatigue

Key Player: Shaban Deldon ‘Jaggarson’ Muhammad

He is the team captain. With the task bestowed upon him, he has ably managed to score goals at will and currently leads the scoring charts in the cup with seven goals (one ahead of Erisa Ssekisambu).

The Uganda U-20 player is calm on and off the playing field. He is quick off the blocks and can pounce on any chance given the unquestionable goal poaching instincts.

Probable Onduparaka XI:

Nathian Ajaib Legason (GK), Sabir Simba, Toha Per Rashid, Gasper, Anini, Gadaffi Alcantara Wahabu, Koko, Ceaser Olega, Muhammed ‘Jaggarson’ Shaban, Gaddafi Gadihno, Rashid Agau

Onduparaka’s Journey to the Uganda Cup final:

Round of 64: Onduparaka 1 (3) -1 (2) Masavu (Scorers: Muhammed Shaban – Onduparaka and Charles Odeke – Masavu)

Round of 32: Sports Club Villa 0 (4) – 0 (5) Onduparaka

Round of 16: Onduparaka 4-1 Busia Fisheries (Scorers: Gerard Lipot – Busia Fisheries,  Muhammed Shaban X2, Rashid Agau, Gaddafi Wahabu)

Quarter final: Onduparaka 1-0 Soana – (Scorer: Muhammed Shaban)


1st Leg – Entebbe 0-1 Onduparaka (Bugonga Stadium, Entebbe) – Muhammed Shaban

2nd Leg: Onduparaka 4-0 Entebbe (Green Light Stadium, Arua) – Muhammed Shaban X2, Gadaffi Gadihno, Rashid Agau

Match Officials:

FIFA referees Brian Nsubuga Miiro (Center referee), Okello Lee (1st assistant), Ronald Katenya (2nd assistant), William Senkumba  (4th official) have been appointed for the match.

Veteran retired referee George Wamala Katumba will be the match referees assessor/commissioner.

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) All Winners since 1971:

1971 – Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976 – Gangama F.C

1977 – Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2008 – Victors S.C

2009 – SC Villa

2010 – Victors S.C

2011 – Simba S.C

2012 – URA F.C

2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2014 – URA F.C

2015 – SC Villa Jogoo

2016 – ????

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think