Bika Bya Buganda Football Tournament:

Tuesday Results

  • First Match: Mpindi 2-0 Mpologoma
  • Second Match: Ndiga 1 (3)- 1 (2) Nyonyi Nyange

Wednesday, 3rd August 2016 Fixtures:

  • Njaza Vs Mutima Muyanja – 2 p.m
  • Nte Vs Mbogo – 4 p.m

Former Uganda Cranes and SC Villa goalie Hannington Kalyesubula saved the day for Ndiga clan with crucial penalty saves in their game against Nyonyi Nyange at Lugogo.

Mpindi and Ndiga became the latest clans to book their slots at the Round of 16 stage of the on-going Bika Bya Buganda football tournament.

During the Tuesday games played at the Phillip Omondi Stadium, Lugogo in Kampala, Mpindi beat Mpologoma in the first game at 2 p.m before Ndiga won a tense penalty shoot out 3-2 over Nyonyi Nyange after normal time had ended one all.

Mpindi players congratulate Yudah Mugalu

Former SC Villa, Baza Holdings and Masavu defender Lawrence Bakiranze scored a second half penalty for Mpindi before Yudah Mugalu doubled the advantage moments later with a solo effort.

These were the last two matches of the preliminary stage played.

Ndiga XI

Nyonyi Nyange XI

Round of 16 games:

Njaza plays Mutima Muyanja in the first game on Wednesday as 2010 winners Nte play the defending champions Mbogo.

Both matches shall be played at the Mutesa II Stadium, Wankulukuku.

All Bika Bya Buganda Football tourney winners:

1950: Mbogo

1951: Ngabi Nsamba

1952: Mmamba Gabunga

1953: Not Held

1954: Not Held

1955: Kkobe

1956: Mmamba Gabunga

1957: Nyonyi Nyange

1958: Ngeye

1959: Mmamba Gabunga

1960: Ffumbe

1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe

1962: Nkima

1963: Not Held

1964: Mmamba Gabunga

1965: Mmamba Gabunga

1987: Ngabi Nsamba

 1988: Lugave

 1989: Mmamba Gabunga

 1990: Lugave

 1991: Ngeye

 1992: Ngeye

 1993: Nkima

 1994: Mmamba Gabunga

 1995: Lugave

 1996: Mpindi

 1997: Nnyonyi

 1998: Lugave

 1999: Lugave

 2000: Mpologoma

 2001: Ngo

 2002: Mpologoma

 2003: Mmamba Gabunga

 2004: Lugave

2005: Ffumbe

 2006: Mpindi

 2007: Ngabi Nsamba

 2008: Kkobe

 2009: Ffumbe

 2010: Nte

 2011: Mmamba Gabunga

 2012: Ngeye

 2013: Ngabi Nsamba

2014: Mmamba Gabunga

2015: Mbogo

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply