2017 AFCON Qualifiers

Sunday, 4th September 2016

Uganda vs. Comoros – Namboole, 5:00pm

Confederation of African Football (CAF) maintains the Uganda Cranes versus Comoros game will be played on Sunday, 4th September 2016, although kick-off time has been changed to 5:00p.m from 8:00p.m.

The new change was effected on request of FUFA over security and lighting system of Nelson Mandela National Stadium.

Similarly, the Burkina Faso versus Botswana match kick-off time was also moved backwards.

FUFA Communications Director Ahmed Hussein confirmed the latest development to Kawowo Sports on Tuesday.

CAF heard our pleas and accepted bring backwards the kick off to avoid the night time. We are so happy and all our arrangement and match preparations move on as earlier planned

Earlier last week, CAF had communicated the change of the kickoff day from Saturday, 3rd August 2016 to Sunday, 4th August 2016 at 8:30 p.m.

Under the new arrangement, the match starts day time with a special request forwarded by FUFA over security concerns and poor lighting system at Namboole.

Meanwhile, Uganda Cranes head coach, Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredejovic released the detailed road-map to the match entailing the full programme for two upcoming games against Kenya (international friendly) and Comoros (2017 AFCON qualifier).

The programme entails the nitty-gritty of the preparations with the technical plan and programme released.

The squad of about 30 players will be officially released on Wednesday, 24th August 2016 with non residential drills starting the following day.

The residential training commences on the 27th August 2016 before that highly billed international friendly against traditional arch-rivals Kenya on Wednsday, 31st August 2016.

On the choice of Kenya for the warm up game, Micho maintains, they (Harambee Stars) will give the Cranes the true challenge.

Kenya is a good country with great players. They will give us that perfect test before the Comoros game.

Uganda needs just a win in the qualifier to make the continental championship for the first time in over 38 years.

TECHNICAL PLAN AND PROGRAM:

Tuesday 16th August 2016: Assessment and evaluation

Wednesday 17th August 2016: Assessment and evaluation

Thursday 18th August 2016: Press conference

Friday 19th August 2016: Assessment and evaluation & AUPL  Round 1

Saturday 20th August 2016: Assessment and evaluation

Sunday 21st August 2016: Assessment and evaluation

Monday 22nd August 2016: Final decision for players playing out of the country

Tuesday  23rd August 2016: AUPL Round 2 & Final decision about locally based players

Wednesday 24th August 2016: Press conference (Squad announcement)

Thursday 25th August 2016: Uganda Cranes non residential training

Friday 26th August 2016: Uganda Cranes non residential training

Saturday 27th August 2016: Uganda Cranes residential training

Sunday 28th August 2016: Uganda Cranes residential training

Monday 29th August 2016: Uganda Cranes residential training

Tuesday 30th August 2016: International friendly match: Uganda vs Kenya

Wednesday 31st August 2016: Uganda Cranes residential training

Thursday 1 September 2016: Uganda Cranes residential training

Friday 2nd September 2016: Uganda Cranes residential training

Saturday 3 September 2016: African cup of nations Gabon 2017 qualifier  (UGANDA vs COMOROS) – Date subject to change according to CAF fixture arrangement

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think