2016 CECAFA Women Football Championship:

  • 11th – 20th September 2016 – Njeru,  Uganda

The 2016 Council of East and Central African Association (CECAFA) Women Football tournament has been launched at the FUFA House in Mengo, Kampala on Monday.

The tournament returns after nearly 30 years in limbo since it was last played.

CECAFA General Secretary, Nicholas Musonye flanked by the FUFA president, Moses Magogo and the Chairperson of the tournament Local Organizing Committee (LOC) Rogers Byamukama graced the press conference that launched the tournament last played in 1986.

“We are excited that the CECAFA Women Football Championship has returned. We hope it will lift the standards of the Women Football in the region,” Magogo told the media.

Musonye was grateful to FUFA for taking up the initiative on such a short notice.

“Uganda is praised for taking up the responsibility at a time no country was willing to host the women tournament and there is no sponsor as such. I thank them,” Musonye stated.

Chairperson of the LOC, Rogers Byamukama hinted on the format upon which the tournament will be played.

“There are two groups A and B. We shall have two matches per day with the best two countries progressing to the semi finals and finally finals,” Byamukama remarked.

The LOC chairman also assured the media that the facilities needed for the tournament shall be ready by the time of kick off.

Seven countries have confirmed to take part in the 9 day’s tournament. These are Uganda (hosts), Kenya, Zanzibar, Rwanda, Burundi, Ethiopia and Tanzania.

Hosts Uganda are joined by arch rivals Kenya, Burundi and Zanzibar in Group A.

Ethiopia, Tanzania and Rwanda are housed in Group B.

On 11th September 2016, Burundi takes to the frey first against Zanzibar in the early kick-off game at 2 p.m.

Uganda will then play Kenya in the second game.

Local Organizing Committee (LOC):

Rogers Byamukama, the chairperson is the chairperson of the Local Organizing Committee (LOC). Others on the committee are Dr. Bernard Patrick Ogwel, Agnes Mugena, Chris Kalibala, Samuel Mpiima, Efrance Nanjego and Ahmed Hussein.

The finals will be held on 20th September 2016 with all games played at the Astro Turf of FUFA Technical Center in Njeru.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think