The 16 teams for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon were confirmed after the last round of the qualifiers played on Sunday.

Host nation Gabon are joined by Magreb region giants Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Morocco, Senegal, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Uganda, second in Group D with 13 points, and Togo, second in Group A with 11 points qualified as the two best runners-up.

Uganda Cranes overcame Comoros 1-0 in Kampala courtesy of Farouk Miya’s 36th minute goal to end the 38 years long wait without playing at the Africa Cup of Nations.

Burkina Faso scored nine minutes into stoppage time in Ouagadougou to edge Botswana 2-1 and top the standings on the head-to-head rule after a match in which three players were red-carded.

Guinea-Bissau will be the only newcomer at next year’s finals whilst Senegal was the only team to have won all six matches and finish with a 100% record.

There nine countries from West Africa that have qualified, four from North region, one apiece from the East, Central and Southern Africa zones.

Classification matches:

Congo beat Guinea-Bissau 1-0 in Brazzaville, Zambia and Kenya drew 1-1 in Ndola in Group E and Malawi beat Swaziland 1-0 in Blantyre in Group L in matches that mattered less.

Guinea overcame Khama Billiat’s Zimbabwe 1-0 although the latter had already secured a slot to the finals.

Successful countries:

Hosts: Gabon

East Africa: Uganda

North Africa: Algeria, Egypt, Tunisia and Morocco

West Africa: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Senegal, Togo

Central Africa: Democratic Republic of Congo

Southern Africa: Zimbabwe

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think