2016 Airtel-FUFA Awards:

Friday, 2nd December

Speke Resort Munyonyo | 7:00 pm – till late

The 2016 Airtel-FUFA Awards have been launched with a Shs.100M sponsorship package from Airtel Uganda Limited at Achwa Hall, Serena Hotel in Kampala.

The launch was graced by the FUFA President, Moses Magogo whose Mengo based FUFA headquarters narrowly survived an ambush earlier in the day by a rival faction.

Airtel Uganda Marketing Director, Indrajeet Rumar, Remmy Kisakye (Head of Brand and Marketing at Airtel Uganda) joined the FUFA officials and other co-sponsors at the event.


Rumar lauded the national team for the successful qualification to the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations finals in Gabon and promised more support for the federation.

Kisakye hailed FUFA for organizing the event for the second time running under the Airtel brand name and echoed the company’s voice recommitting their support towards football development in Uganda.

There are 11 categories of awards that are slated to take place on Friday, 2nd December 2016 at Speke Resort Munyonyo.

Four of the categories will be subjected to an a vote through the SMS by fans (MVP Male and Female as well as favourites player Local and Foreign).

Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

This year’s Awards follow a successful event held at Munyonyo last year where Farouk Miya and Sandra Nabweteme won the Male and Female MVP’s respectively.

The launch was also graced by Dennis Mbidde (Chairperson of the Awards Organizing Committee), Pamela Abonyo (NIC Corporate Communications Manager), Tonny Mutengo of SMS One media company, Edmund Mutebi of Canaan Sites Limited, Bobkins Kibirige of Kibo Media group, FUFA Secretariat staff, media among others.

Nominees for MVP’s:

Male – Dennis Onyango, Farouk Miya, Muhammed Shaban and Erisa Ssekisambu

Female – Sandra Nabweteme, Ruth Aturo, Christine Nambirige and Hasfa Nassuna

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think