Onduparaka captain, Muhammed Shaban recieves his MVP award from William Blick, President of Uganda Olympic Committee (UOC)

In his publication, ‘Ask Again Later’, famous author Jill A. Davis is remarkably quoted, “The surprise is that you continue to be surprised.”

Jill hints on the unusual circumstances, decisions, defining moments and trend of life events that could leave many awed and buried off in total shocking surprises.

In line with the aforementioned, the 2016 Airtel FUFA Awards left a section of fans, loyalists and nominees in the Victoria Hall of Speke Resort Munyonyo and many following live on Television extremely delighted.

Others, for obvious reasons were crestfallen, shocked and definitely surprised.

Onduparaka Football Club talismanic captain and youngster, Muhammed ‘Jarggason’ Shaban beat Mamelodi Sundowns’ goalkeeper Dennis Onyango, Standard Liege’s Faruku Miya, Vipers Erisa Ssekisambu and the reigning Uganda Premier league MVP, Joseph Ochaya to  scoop home the male best footballer of the year award, a reward that came forth with a brand new car.

Shaban’s victory was arguably the biggest shocker on the night many anticipated Onyango, part of the Uganda Cranes historic AFCON 2017 qualification team would be top having also won the CAF Champions League for Mamelodi Sundowns (becoming the first Ugandan to achieve the milestone), guided his club to the league crown in South Africa, won the Telekom knock out cup in saving two penalties against Kaizer Chiefs and named man of the match as well as a losing finalist in the MTN 8 Cup finals.

[/media-credit] FUFA president Moses Magogo (L) State Minister for Sports Charles Bakabulindi (2nd L) at the Airtel-FUFA Awards Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

In his brief victory speech at the podium, Shaban in his usually reserved code was shocked and filled with excitement.

I feel good to have won. I want to thank my teammates at Onduparaka. At the club, we are one family.

Shaban was later handed over his car and acknowledged to enroll for driving lessons as soon as possible.

Onyango, last year’s winner Joseph Ochaya, Faruku Miya and Erisa Ssekisambu followed in that respective order.

Onyango gets a land title courtesy of Canaanites as Miya is rewarded with a plasma screen.

On the night too, Kawempe Muslim S.S sharp striker Hasifa Nassuna took home the best female footballer of the year award beating Ruth Aturo, Christine Nambirigge and last year’s winner Sandra Nabweteeme.

KCCA head coach Mike Mutebi pipped Allan Kabonge and George Nsimbe to the coach of the year gong.

Mike Mutebi with his award

Nkumba Select silky striker Roch Somoka took home the best beach soccer player of the year award.

Other winners:

FIFA beach soccer referee, who is bound for the 2016 CAF beach soccer Africa Championship Ivan Kintu Bayige was crowned the best referee of the season, coming top ahead of last year’s winner Brian Miiro Nsubuga and Mark Ssonko.

2002 FIFA World Cup referee (Officiated in South Korea and Japan) was rewarded 14 years later with the FUFA Presidential award.

AS Roma and Egypt Pharaoah’s Muhammed Salah was rewarded as the fans’ favourite of the year (non Uganda) as Faruku Miya was the fans’ pick (Ugandan).

[/media-credit] FUFA CEO, Edgar Watson recieves Muhammed Salah’s award Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

Salah’s award was picked up by the FUFA Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Edgar Watson who promised to travel to Egypt and deliver it.

Reigning Uganda Cup winners, Vipers Sports Club won the fair play team of the year award.

[/media-credit] Uganda Cranes coach Milutin Sredojević at the Airtel-FUFA Awards during a moment of silence for the dead Chapeonse players before the awards kicked off. Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The team of the year has URA’s Mathias Mugwanya (formerly with Sadolin Paints) as goalkeeper, KCCA’s quartet of Denis Okot, Joseph Ochaya,Muzamiru Mutyaba and Robert Sentongo, Jinja Municipal Council’s central defender Musa Walangalira, Vipers’ Halid Lwaliwa, Ibrahim Kayiwa, and Erisa Ssekisambu as the season’s revelation Shaban Mohammad.

Like author Jill concurred, the surprise on the night was that many continued to be surprised with some of the declared winners.

[/media-credit] Airtel-FUFA Awards MCs Ismael Dhakaba Kigongo and Aisha Nassanga Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The awards night was hosted by Nation Media journalist Ismail Dhakaba Kigongo and NBS TV sports presenter Aisha Nassanga.

Entertainment inter-ludes were optimally utilized by Bebe Cool and fast rising music diva Winnie Nwagi of the ‘Musawo’ fame.

Congs to all the different winners.

Different Award Winners:

Most Valuable Players of the Year

Male: Shaban Mohammad (Onduparaka)

Female: Hasifa Nassuna (Kawempe Muslim S.S)

Coach of the Year: Mike Mutebi

FUFA team of the year:

Mathias Mugwanya (GK), Denis Okot, Joseph Ochaya, Musa Walangalira, Halid Lwaliwa, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Muzamir Mutyaba, Kezironi Kizito, Robert Ssentogo, Shaban Mohammad and Erisa Ssekisambu.

Beach Soccer Player of the year: Roch Somoka (Nkumba Select)

Fair Play Award: Vipers Sports Club

Referee of the year: Ivan Kintu Bayige (FIFA Beach Soccer Referee)

FUFA Presidential Award: Ali Tomusange (Retired FIFA Referee who officiated at the 2002 World Cup)

Fans favourite player of the year (Ugandan): Faruku Miya (Standard Liege)

Fans favourite player of the year (Non Ugandan): Muhammed Salah (AS Roma)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think