Mamelodi Sundowns 0-2 Kashima Antlers

Reigning African club champions Mamelodi Sundowns lost 2-0 to Japanese champions Kashima Antlers at the Suita City football stadium on Sunday in the FIFA Club World Cup.

Yasushi Endo put the Antlers ahead two minutes after the hour mark before Mu Kanazaki wrapped up business with the second in the 88th minute.

The Brazilians thus miss out on a semi-final spot at their first time of asking.

Mamelodi Sundowns, representing the African continent nearly broke the deadlock after 13 minutes when Thapelo Morena’s low effort was saved by Sogahata.

Antlers, meanwhile, started seeing more of the ball as the half went on, although they struggled mount any serious attempts at Denis Onyango’s goal in the opening 25 minutes.

Sundowns should have broken the deadlock after 29 minutes when Percy Tau missed a one-on-one opportunity, before Khama Billiat blazed over from six-yards out a minute later.

It was one way traffic as Antlers had Sogahata to thank for keeping Sundowns at bay, as he produced a number of fine saves over the course of the first half.

The Japanese outfit, meanwhile, offered very little going forward and register a single shot in the opening 45 minutes.

Antlers were the better side in the second half, as Sundowns were restricted to counter attacks.

The Japanese outfit then broke the deadlock in the 62nd minute when Endo fired past Dennis Onyango in the Sundowns goal posts.

Pitso Mosimane responded by introducing defender Siyanda Zwane for the in-effective Leonardo Castro.

Sundowns continued to push for an equalizing goal and also threw on Anthony Laffor and Sibusiso Vilakazi for the final 15 minutes.

However, Antlers sealed the win in the 87th minute, as substitute Mu Kanazaki was afford time in the box and placed the ball into the bottom corner.

Sundowns will now play in the 5th place final against Jeonbuk Motors on Wednesday.

Antlers take on Columbian side Copa Libertadores winners Atletico Nacionale in Osaka.

Line ups:

Sundowns: 36. Onyango, 27. Morena (Laffor 70′), 6. Arendse, 2. Nascimento, 4. Langerman, 8. Kekana, 13. Mabunda, 7. Dolly, 22. Tau, 28. Billiat (Vilakazi 78′), 25. Castro (Zwane 65′).

Antlers: 21. Sogahata, 3. Shoji, 6. Nagaki, 8. Shoma, 10. Shibasaki, 13. Nakamura, 16. Shuto, 18. Akasaki, 22. Daigo, 23. Ueda, 25. Endo.

The full list of fixtures:

Match 1

8th December, Yokohama: Kashima Antlers 2-1 Aukland City

Match 2: 11th December, Osaka: Jeonbuk Hyandai 1-2 America

Match 3: Mamelodi Sundowns 0-2 Kashima Antlers

Match 4: 14th December: Jeonbuk Hyandai vs Kashima Antlers

Match 5

Osaka: Atletico Nacionale vs Kashima Antlers

Match 6

15th December, Yokohama: Winner Match 2 vs Real Madrid

Match 7

18th December, Yokohama: (Third Place) – Loser Match 6 v Loser Match 5

Match 8



Winner Match 6 vs Winner Match 5

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply