Cameroon, Burkina Faso action | AFCON 2017 Credit: Photo Credits: CAF

Burkina Faso 0-1 Cameroon (Half-Time)

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon roared over Burkina Faso for the first 45 minutes of the group A AFCON 2017 match.

Team captain Benjamin Moukandjo’s stunning free-kick on 33 minutes from the edge of the 18 yard goal mark was the only difference as they strolled down the dug-out.

Cameroon perfectly recovered in the final quarter of the opening half having succumbed to pressure during the early stages.

Yann Pitriopa had a goal disallowed for Burkina Faso as early as the 6th minutes as the Stallions posed the early questions of the day.

Paulo Duarte’s outfit remained dominant with great control of the midfield by the veteran Charles Kabore and Bertrand Traore.

Cameroon’s Oliever Massoussi became the first player at this year’s tournament to earn a caution for a dangerous foul.

Christian Mougang Bassogog nearly scored for Cameroon in the 20th minute, but his shot hit the side netting after fancy footwork down the right.

Slowly the Indomitable Lions recovered and dominated the rest of the half.

Moukandjo’s stunning free-kick was a result of a foul awarded by referee Janny Sikzwe near the 18 yard goal mark.

Line ups:

Burkina Faso XI: Herve Koffi Kouakou (G.K), Bakary Kone, Patrcik B. Arnaud Malo, Niguimbe Prejuce Nakoulma, Razack Traore Abdou, Alain Traore Sibiri, Yann Pitropia Benninwende, Issoufou Dayo, Charles Kabore (Captain), Bertrand Isidore Traore, Yacouba Coulibaly


Babayoure Sawadogo, Steeve Yago,Issouf Paro, Bakary Sare, Banou Diawara, Adama Guira, Koanda Souleymane, Bance Astride, Jonathan Zongo, Cyrille Bayala, Ibrahim Toure, Moussa Sanou

Cameroon XI: Joseph Ondoa Ebogo (G.K), Ernest Olivier Mabouka Massoussi, Adolphe Teiku Kamgang, Michael Ngadjui Ngadeu, Ambrose Oyongo Bitolo, Clinton Njie, Benjamin Moukandjo (Captain), Jacques Daogari Zoua, Christian Mougang Bassogog, Georges Constant Mandjeck, Sebastien Clovis Siani


Nicholas Julio Nkoulou, Vincent Aboubakar Aboubakar, Edgar Nicaise Salli, Frank Thierry Boya, Goda Jules, Sutchuin Djoum Arnaud, Robert Ndip Tambe, Fai Collins Ngoran Suiru, Karl Toko Ekambi, Djetei Mohamed, Joseph Ngwemi II, George  Bokwe

Head coach: Henri Hugo Broos (Belgium)

Match Officials:

Center Referee: Janny Sikazwe (Zambia)

1st Assistant Referee: Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos (Angola)

2nd Assistant Referee: Marwa Range (Kenya)

Reserve Referee: Redouane Jiyed (Morocco)

Match Commissioner: Pierre Alain Mounguengui (Gabon)

General Coordinator: Anthony Baffoe (Ghana)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply