Action from Cameroon vs Gabon Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

FINAL Group A Matches:

Cameroon 0-0 Gabon & Burkina Faso 1-0 Guinea Bissau (Half time)


It is a fast paced group A game between Cameroon and 2017 AFCON hosts Gabon at the stade De L’Amitie in Angondje in Libreville.

The score board reads in bold, 0-0 after the opening 45 minutes of the game being refereed by South African FIFA refeee, Daniel Frazer Bennett.

The host country need maximum points from this game if they are to progress to the quarter finals.

As early as the opening 15 minutes of the game, it was proved they needed the much desired victory.

Skipper Aubameyang missed a seater in the 3rd minute off Denis Bouanga’s teasing ball.

Cameroon’s Clovis Siani Sebastien was booked for a malicious tackle in the 17th minute.

Cameroon’s goalie Joseph Ebogo, has been the busier of the two.

He was called upon with a darling finger tip save off Bouanga in the 20th minute as he parried the ball for a corner.

In the process, he got injured but was able to carry on after medication.

Three minutes to the half hour mark, Robert Ndip Tambe had a shot fly high for Cameroon.

The two technical benches have options on the benches.

The other match at Franceville is still 1-0 in favour of Burkina Faso against AFCON debutants, Guinea Bissau.

Team Line ups:

Cameroon XI: Joseph Ondoa Ebogo (G.K), Nicolas Julio Nkoulou, Adolphe Teikeu Kamgang, Ngadeu Ngadjui Michael, Oyongo Bitolo Ambrose, Benjamin Moukandjo (Captain), Edgar Nicaise Salli, Christian Mougang Bassogog, Sebastien Clovis Siani, Robert Ndip Tambe, Fai Collins Ngoran Suiru

Subs: Ernest Olivier Mabouka Massoussi, Clinton Njie, Zoua Daogari Jacques, Aboubakar Vincent Aboubakar, Frank Thierry Boya, Georges Constant Mandjeck, Goda Jules, Sutchuin Djoum Arnaud, Karl Toko Ekambi, Djetei Mohamed, Joseph Ngwem II, George Bokwe

Head coach: Hugo Henri Baroos (Belgium)

Gabon XI: Didier Ovono Ebang (G.K), Aaron Christopher Billy Ondele Appindagoye, Bruno Euele Manga, Evouna Malick, Lloyd Palun, Pierre Emerick Emiliano Francois Aubameyang, Andre Biyogo Poko, Serge Junior Bertil Nicolas Martinsson Ngouali, Benjamin Parfait Ze Ondo, Athanase Denis Bouanga, Didier Ibrahim Ndong

Subs: Franck Obambou, Koumba Tandjigora Abdoulaye, Johann Serge Obiang, Mario Rene Junior Lemina, Levy Clement Madinda, Gueor Kanga Kaku, Samson Mbingui, Aboue Angoue Serge Kevyn, Cedric Ondo Biyoghe, Anthony Leandre Mfa Mezui, Yoann Claude Wachter, Yves Stephane Bitseki Moto

Head coach: Jose Antonio Camacho Alfaro (Spain)

Match officials:

Center Referee: Daniel Frazer Bennett (South Africa)

1st Assistant Referee: Zakhele Thusi Siwela (South Africa)

2nd Assistant Referee: Aboubacar Doumbouya (Guinea)

4th Official: Bernard Camille (Syechelles)

Commissioner: Said Belkhayat (Morocco)

General Coordinator: Anthony Baffoe (Ghana)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply