Credit: Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE
Serge Junior Bertil Nicols Martinsson

Group A final matches:

Cameroon 0-0 Gabon (Libreville) | Burkina Faso 2-0 Guinea Bissau (Franceville)

Cameroon’s goalless Group A draw with Gabon at the Stade De L’Amitie in Angondje in Libreville on Sunday night meant that the AFCON 2017 hosts Gabon are officially out of the tournament.

[/media-credit] Action from Cameroon vs Gabon Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

The Indomitable Lions thus make the grade for the knock out stage with Burkina Faso who defeated Guinea Bissau 2-0 in Franceville on the same night to top the group.

Like the case was for the opening 45 minutes of the game, the two sides failed to see any goal scored in 90 minutes.

The host country needed maximum points from the game for any chances of progress to the quarter finals.

Missed opportunities especially in the opening half for the hosts did not help at all. As early as the opening 15 minutes of the game, it was proved they needed the much desired victory.

Skipper Aubameyang missed a sitter in the 3rd minute off Denis Bouanga’s teasing ball.

Cameroon’s Clovis Siani Sebastien was booked for a malicious tackle in the 17th minute.

Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Cameroon’s goalie Joseph Ebogo was the busier of the two shot stoppers.

He was called upon with a daring finger-tip save off Bouanga in the 20th minute as he parried the ball for a corner. In the process, he got injured but was able to carry on after medication.

Three minutes to the half hour mark, Cameroon’s Robert Ndip Tambe had a shot fly high.

Gabon called for the first change of the game when  Yoann Claude Wachter replaced Benjamin Parfait Ze Ondo in the 57th minute.

15 minutes later, Aboue Angoue Serge Kevyn came in for Palun Llyod before Cameroon’s first change with a quarter of an hour left on the clock.

Credit: © Kawowo Sports / AMINAH BABIRYE

Zoua Daogari Jacques came in for Edgar Nicaise Salli. At this moment, Samson Mbingui took over Evouna Malick’s place in Gabon’s final amendment as they pushed forward for at least a goal.

The Indomitable Lions called for a double change inside the final 9 minutes of the game. Aboubakar Vincent Aboubakar and Karol Toko Ekambi replaced Christian Mougang Bassogog and Robert Ndip Tambe respectively.

The final whistle was treated by celebrations from the Cameroon players and entire bench with wild cheers from the stadium.

Cameroon fans in the stands Credit: © Kawowo Sports / AMINAH BABIRYE

Meanwhile,  Gabonese players were left crest fallen and fans crying.

The game in Libreville was officiated by South African FIFA referee, Daniel Frazer Bennett.

F.C Tours forward Denis Athanase Bouanga was voted the TOTAL man of the match.

Gabon and Guinea Bissau’s exit follows that of Uganda on Saturday night.

The two last games in Group B will take center stage on Monday night.

Senegal plays Algeria in Franceville whilst Zimbabwe will take on Tunisia in Libreville at Stade De L’Amitie.

Team Line ups:

Cameroon XI: Joseph Ondoa Ebogo (G.K), Nicolas Julio Nkoulou, Adolphe Teikeu Kamgang, Ngadeu Ngadjui Michael, Oyongo Bitolo Ambrose, Benjamin Moukandjo (Captain), Edgar Nicaise Salli, Christian Mougang Bassogog, Sebastien Clovis Siani, Robert Ndip Tambe, Fai Collins Ngoran Suiru

Subs: Ernest Olivier Mabouka Massoussi, Clinton Njie, Zoua Daogari Jacques, Aboubakar Vincent Aboubakar, Frank Thierry Boya, Georges Constant Mandjeck, Goda Jules, Sutchuin Djoum Arnaud, Karl Toko Ekambi, Djetei Mohamed, Joseph Ngwem II, George Bokwe

Head coach: Hugo Henri Baroos (Belgium)

Gabon XI: Didier Ovono Ebang (G.K), Aaron Christopher Billy Ondele Appindagoye, Bruno Euele Manga, Evouna Malick, Lloyd Palun, Pierre Emerick Emiliano Francois Aubameyang, Andre Biyogo Poko, Serge Junior Bertil Nicolas Martinsson Ngouali, Benjamin Parfait Ze Ondo, Athanase Denis Bouanga, Didier Ibrahim Ndong

Subs: Franck Obambou, Koumba Tandjigora Abdoulaye, Johann Serge Obiang, Mario Rene Junior Lemina, Levy Clement Madinda, Gueor Kanga Kaku, Samson Mbingui, Aboue Angoue Serge Kevyn, Cedric Ondo Biyoghe, Anthony Leandre Mfa Mezui, Yoann Claude Wachter, Yves Stephane Bitseki Moto

Head coach: Jose Antonio Camacho Alfaro (Spain)

Match officials:

Center Referee: Daniel Frazer Bennett (South Africa)

1st Assistant Referee: Zakhele Thusi Siwela (South Africa)

2nd Assistant Referee: Aboubacar Doumbouya (Guinea)

4th Official: Bernard Camille (Syechelles)

Commissioner: Said Belkhayat (Morocco)

General Coordinator: Anthony Baffoe (Ghana)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply