Duncan Mubiru during the Pearl Rally last year. Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
[/media-credit] Duncan Mubiru during the Pearl Rally last year. Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) is required to make amendments in the National Competition Rules every season basing on several conditions in the previous year.

Among the notable changes for the 2017 season will see crews not scoring points for foreign rallies.

Article 7.3 of the 2016 regulations initially gave crews an opportunity to substitute any NRC event with a round of Africa Rally Championship event.

With the rule changed, only NRC events will score towards the national championship.

“We had that rule hoping that our crews would attract foreign drivers to get interested in our championship and probably come and participate in one or two events,” explains Jeff Kabagambe, the FMU deputy Vice President – Ttechnical.

“But it was the opposite, it was always our crews to cross the boarders. But we have never had many foreign crews come here regularly like our drivers do. So we decided to do away with the rule.”

Another likely change which awaits approval from the FMU, is the rotational start order for each event.

The first seven drivers from last season’s seeding points will each have to go first in one of the seven NRC rounds.

Previously, only a crew topping the standings was supposed to open the route.

Also pending approval, is the rule on maximum lateness.

Maximum lateness from two different controls might go to fifteen (15) minutes from thirty (30) minutes. While maximum lateness for a whole rally might change from sixty (60) minutes to thirty (30) minutes.

The decisions may be ratified next month.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply