KCCA FC's line-up Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Uganda Cup (Round of 32):

  • Wednesday, 15th Feb 2017
  • Lungujja Galaxy Vs KCCA – Phillip Omondi Stadium, 4:00 p.m
[/media-credit] Paul Mucureezi controls a ball. Mucureezi has 2 goals in the Uganda Cup Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

KCCA FC is set to play Kampala Regional side Lungujja Galaxy in the Uganda Cup Round of 32 at Philip Omondi stadium on Wednesday afternoon.

Originally, the match was supposed to be hosted at Lungujja Galaxy home ground (Uganda Martyrs’ Rubaga playground) but after a mutual agreement, Lugogo will now host the match.

Lungujja Galaxy eliminated Moroto United at the Round of 64 as KCCA whipped Koboko Rising Stars at the same stage.

KCCA forward Paul Mucureezi who starred against Koboko Rising Stars in their 6-1 win during the round of 64 duel at Lugogo aims to forward the interests of the club ahead of personal ambitions of adding to his personal tally.

He told the club website on Tuesday;

The target is not scoring but putting the team first, creating chances for my teammates, helping the team defensively to make sure we register a win.

KCCA F.C is chasing their 9th Uganda Cup title since their first cup victory in 1979.

The Lugogo club will use the match as rehearsal for the CAF Champions League return leg against Angola reigning champions Club Desportivo Primeiro de Agosto.

The Uganda Cup winner earns a ticket to represent the country at the CAF Confederation Cup.

Vipers Sports Club is the defending champion.

Full fixtures of the Round of 32 

Bright Light Vs Paidha Black Angels

Soana FC Vs SC Vipers

Water FC Vs Booma Young

Police FC Vs The Saints

Ndejje University Vs JMC Hippos

Igombe FC Vs Masavu FC

Kataka FC Vs Synergy FC

Lungujja Galaxy Vs KCCA FC

Mbarara FC Vs Onduparaka FC

Fort Portal Boda Boda Vs Kiwanga United

Express FC Vs Doves All Stars

Bright Stars Vs Bazaar Holdings

Sadolin Paints FC Vs Agape SS


Thunder FC Vs Kiboga Young

UCU Mbale Vs Kyetume FC

Uganda Cup (formerly Kakungulu cup) Winners since 1971:

1971 –Coffee F.C

1972-1975-Not Held

1976- Gangama F.C

1977- Simba F.C

1978 – Nsambya F.C

1979 – KCC F.C

1980 – KCC F.C

1981 – Coffee F.C

1982 – KCC F.C

1983 – SC Villa F.C

1984 – KCC F.C

1985 – Express F.C

1986 – SC Villa F.C

1987 – KCC F.C

1988 – SC Villa

1989 – SC Villa

1990 – KCC F.C

1991 – Express F.C

1992 – Express F.C

1993 – KCC F.C

1994 – Express F.C

1995 – Express F.C

1996 – UEB S.C

1997 – Express F.C

1998 – SC Villa

1999 – Mbale Heroes S.C

2000 – SC Villa

2001 – Express F.C

2002 – SC Villa

2003 – Express F.C

2004 – KCC F.C

2005 – URA F.C

2006 – Express F.C

2007 – Express F.C

2007/8 – Victors S.C

2008/9 – SC Villa

2009/10 – Victors S.C

2010/11 – Simba S.C

2011/12 – URA F.C

2013/2013 – Sports Club Victoria University

2013/2014 – URA F.C

2014/15 –  Sports Club Villa

2015/16 – Vipers Sports Club

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think