Kabaka Mutebi II greets Buddu players last year

Airtel Buganda Masaza football tourney 2017:

Opening match: Saturday, 13th May

  •  Buddu Vs Mawogola
  • At Masaka Recreational Stadium (4 p.m)
[/media-credit] Buddu against Gomba in 2016 Masaza cup final at Namboole Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

Reigning champions of the Airtel Buganda Masaza football tournament, Buddu will take on Mawogola in the opener of the 2017 edition.

The opening match which will be graced by His Majesty, the Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II shall be staged at the Masaka Recreational stadium on May 13.

The kingdom Sports Minister Owek. Henry Ssekabembe Kiberu confirmed the development.

Kabaka Mutebi II is pleased to open this year’s Masaza football tournament between Buddu the defending champion and Mawogola at Masaka Recreational stadium on the 13th May 2017.

A mammoth crowd is expected to grace the match as Buddu seeks to make history by becoming the first team to successfully defend the crown.

Buddu head coach Steven Bogere, a former Uganda Cranes international is optimistic they will work for the desired result at home in the opener before their home fans and throughout the tournament.

Our preparations kicked off on a high gear with the target of defending the championship.

Training is already underway and we have added onto the team new players to beef up the old squad that won at Namboole.

Exciting left footed attacker Mikidadi Ssenyonga is one of the new recruits that Buddu signed from rivals Gomba.

Ssenyonga’s craftiness and ‘ball sense’ will exactly fill the void left by play maker Joseph Jjanjali and former skipper Shakidu Mbaziira who ironically left for Gomba.

Mawogola, Kooki, Ssesse, Buddu and Kabula have time immemorial played in the same group (due to geographical setting).

Overall, there are 19 county (Ssaza) teams that play in the Buganda Masaza football tournament now officially bankrolled by telecommunications giants Airtel Uganda and Centenary bank to a tune of over Ug.shs 1 billion.

Masaza products:

The tournament has witnessed the graduation of talents from scratches to super stars.

Players as Brian Umony who was a darling at Kyadondo back in the days before he was tapped on by KCCA and later summoned to the Uganda Cranes.

Others as Emmanuel Okwi (Mawokota), Mike Sserumaga (Mawokota), Yassar Mugerwa (Gomba), Ivan ‘Ngong’ Bukenya (Mawogola), Sula ‘Malouda’ Matovu (Mawogola), Godfrey Walusimbi (Mawokota), Farouk Miya (Butaambala), Robert Odongkara (Mawogola), Ivan Anguyo (Gomba), Lawrence Ssonko (Bulemeezi, Singo), Robert Mukongottya (Buddu), Andrew Kyekulidde (Gomba), Fred Kyambadde (Bulemeezi and Singo), Nicholas Lubowa (Busiro), Robert Kalumba (Bulemeezi), Muzamiru Mutyaba (Mawogola), Yunus Sentamu (Bulemeezi), Nelson Senkatuka (Bulemeezi), Edrisa Lubega (Singo), Alex Ikanga (Gomba), Fiti Kagolo (Kooki), Mahdi Mukiri (Kooki and Mawogola), Muhammed Ssekebba (Buddu) and Joseph Jjanjali (Buddu) among others.

Both Mawokota and Gomba have won the tournament a record three times a piece.

Other winners are Buddu, Singo, Bulemeezi, Kooki, Kyadondo and Buluri.

Masaza Cup Football Champions (Since 2004):

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012– Bulemeezi

2011– Buluri

2010– Not Held

2009– Gomba

2008– Kyadondo

2007– Mawokota

2006– Kooki

2005– Mawokota

2004– Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think