Action in the Airtel Buganda Masaza tournament Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2017 Airtel Masaza Cup:

Sunday, 4th June:

Group A:

  • Kyadondo Vs Buvuma – Phillip Omondi stadium, Lugogo
  • Mawokota Vs Busiro – Buwama

Group B:

  • Kabula Vs Mawogola – Lyantonde
  • Kooki Vs Ssese – Rakai
[/media-credit] Action in the Airtel Buganda Masaza tournament Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

The last four group games of the Airtel Buganda Masaza football tournament will take place this Sunday, 4th June 2017 at the different playing venues.

Former winners, Mawokota, who have had a slow start of the campaign are this time at home against Busiro at their Buwama fortress.

Three-time winners Mawokota (champions in 2005, 2007 and 2013) have been a shadow of themselves without any victory so far this term.

Mawokota lost 2-1 to Butambala on the opening weekend of the 2017 edition and again fell 2-0 away to Kyadondo at Phillip Omondi Stadium, Lugogo in Kampala.

The  other group game will witness Kyadondo entertain fast improving Buvuma at the Phillip Omondi stadium, Lugogo.

Kyadondo’s last game the previous week was that goalless draw away to Busiro played at the Sentema playground.

In Group B, Kabula hosts 2008 semifinalists Mawogola in Lyantonde as 2006 champions, Kooki will be at home to Ssese in Rakai.

Kooki would wish to recover in  a record time from that 2-1 loss to Buddu at the Masaka Recreational stadium last week.

Also, last week Ssese was held 0-0 at their Lutoboka home by visiting Kabula

The coming week will see the return of action for the remainder of the second round games at various venues.

[/media-credit] The Airtel Buganda Masaza football tournament is associated with large numbers Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Two teams out of each of the four groups will qualify for the quarter finals that are played on a home and away basis.

The tournament that has been played for now 13 years has graduated through leaps and bounds having been a rich platform to showcase raw talent, many of whom have ascended the ladder up to the Uganda Cranes and even played professional football outside the country.

Some of these players are Joseph Owino (Mawogola), Emmanuel Okwi (Mawokota), Brian Umony (Kyadondo), Mike Sserumaga (Mawokota), Aziz Kemba (Gomba), Hamis ‘Diego’ Kiiza (Mawogola), Faruku Miya (Butambala), Alex Ikanga, Yassar Mugerwa (Gomba), Yunus Sentamu (Bulemeezi), Nelson Senkatuka (Bulemeezi), Robert Odongkara (Mawogola), Edrisa Lubega (Singo), Sula ‘Malouda’ Matovu (Mawogola), Godfrey ‘Jajja Walu’ Walusimbi (Mawokota), Robert Mukongottya (Buddu) among others.

Buddu are the defending champions.

Airtel Buganda Masaza Cup  All Winners:

2016 – Buddu

2015 – Singo

2014 – Gomba

2013 – Mawokota

2012– Bulemeezi

2011– Buluri

2010– Not Held

2009– Gomba

2008– Kyadondo

2007– Mawokota

2006– Kooki

2005- Mawokota

2004- Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think