Masaza football action Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

2017 Airtel Masaza Cup:

Group A:

  • Kyadondo 1-1 Buvuma
  • Mawokota 1-1 Busiro

Group B:

  • Kabula 1-1 Mawogola
  • Kooki 5-1 Ssese

Kooki humiliated visiting Ssese 5-1 at Lwanda Army playground in Rakai in a Group B encounter of the 2017 Airtel Buganda Masaza Cup on Sunday evening.

This was one of the four matches played that marked the end of the first phase of the group games.

Meddie Kyeyune led the way with a hat-trick, the first of the tournament.

Kyeyune took his tally to four goal to put him aloft the rest of the goal scorers.

Sunday Gerrard and Jimmy Kiwanuka scored the other goals for the dominant home side while Hassan Katumba scored the consolation for the islanders.

The other Group B game, Kabula and Mawogola shared the spoils in a one-all draw at Bakijjulula.

Charles Kiwanuka got the goal for Kabula to cancel Mwanje Nile Kawaawa’s unfortunate own goal.

In Group A, Kyadondo, the tournament winners in 2008 were held by a fast improving Buvuma to one-all draw at the Phillip Omondi stadium,Lugogo.

Edison Walinga gave the visiting team the lead before a late-late goal by Owen Kasule (not related to former KCCA, URA and Lweza midfielder) brought the game level.

Meanwhile, three time winners Mawokota remains win-less in three games after the 1-1 home draw with visiting Busiro Ssaza at Buwama.

Airtel Buganda Masaza Cup Past Winners:

  • 2016 Buddu
  • 2015 – Singo
  • 2014 – Gomba
  • 2013 – Mawokota
  • 2012 – Bulemeezi
  • 2011 – Buluri
  • 2010 – Not Held
  • 2009 – Gomba
  • 2008 – Kyadondo
  • 2007 – Mawokota
  • 2006 – Kooki
  • 2005  Mawokota
  • 2004 Gomba

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think