National Beach Soccer League 2016/17:

  • Final (Men): MUBS 8-6 Mutesa I Royal University (After extra time)
  • Final (Women): Muteesa I Royal B 3-2 Muteesa I A Royal University
  • Third place playoff (Men): Nkumba Select 5-4 YMCA
MUBS players celebrate their success at Lido Beach in Entebbe on Sunday KAWOWO SPORTS

Makerere University Business School (MUBS) is the champion of the 2016-17 National Beach Soccer League to make it three since the championship inception in 2009.

The Nakawa based institution overcame a hard fighting Muteesa I Royal University side 8-6 after extra time in a thrilling finale watched by a lively and passionate crowd at Lido Beach in Entebbe.

Normal time of the action packed final had ended 6 goals apiece.

Isma Kawawulo, Elvis Kasujja, Benson Ocen all scored two goals for MUBS before their other strike came from an own goal by Mutesa’s captain Primo Kimera.

Muteesa I Royal University players and officials with their silver medals

Muteesa’s goals came from Julius Rulinda (2), Primo Kimera (2) and a goal apiece from the Paul entity of Lule and Kato.

This was MUBS’s third league trophy after winning in 2012 and 2015.

Muteesa I Royal University B overcame a fellow Muteesa A entity 3-2 to win the women encounter.

Sharon Namatovu was on target twice for Muteesa A. Muteesa B’s goals were from Precious Najjemba (2) and Dorah Nakimuli.

Muteesa B players and officials celebrate KAWOWO SPORTS

“We had the pedigree and prepared well. This victory is good enough to present before the university administration to pick more interest in the sport and further facilitate us,” MUBS’s winning coach Charles Ayiekho said.

His counterpart Tonny Ssebagala, of Mutesa I Royal University cast the blame game to suspect refereeing.

Meanwhile in the third place playoff, 2015-16 winners Nkumba Select defeated YMCA to take bronze.

Uganda Beach Soccer Association (UBSA) has been organizing the league since 2009 as mandated by the football governing body in the country, FUFA.

Individual winners:

  • Top scorer: Benson Ocen (MUBS) – 33 Goals
  • MVP (Men): Paul Lule (Muteesa I Royal University)
  • MVP (Women): Habiba Nakayobyo (Muteesa)
  • Fair play (Men): YMCA
  • Fair play (Women): Entebbe Ladies
  • Best Goalkeeper: Nasser Lwamunda (Muteesa I Royal University)
  • Best Coach (Men): Tonny Ssebagala (Muteesa I Royal University)
  • Best coach (Women): Herbert Luboyeera (Muteesa I Royal University)
  • Best Print Media: Denis Bbosa West (Daily Monitor)
  • Best Online Media: David Isabirye (Kawowo Sports)
  • Best TV Media: Uthuman Ssempebwa (UBC TV)

Playoff Results:

Quarter finals:

  • YMCA 09-04 Kabalagala Rangers
  • Makerere University Business School (MUBS) 7-4 Stormers
  • Nkumba Select 12-05 Kampala International University (KIU)
  • Mutesa 1 Royal University 05-04 St Lawrence University

Semi finals:

  • YMCA 4-7 MUBS
  • Nkumba Select 4 (1) – 1 (2) Mutesa I Royal University

All Beach Soccer League winners:

  • 2017: MUBS
  • 2016 – Nkumba Select
  • 2015 – MUBS
  • 2014 – Kira Young
  • 2013 – St. Lawrence
  • 2012 – MUBS
  • 2011 – Kabalagala Rangers
  • 2010 – Braza Braza
  • 2009 – Tinka


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here