Action from Cameroon vs Gabon Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE
  • 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers (Group B):
  • 1st Leg (Friday, 1st September 2017): Nigeria Vs Cameroon – Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo
  • 2nd Leg (Monday, 4th September 2017): Cameroon Vs Nigeria – Yaounde
[/media-credit] Cameroon head coach, Hugo Broos Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Vincent Aboubakar and Christian Bassogog headline the 23-man Cameroon squad for the back-to-back FIFA World Cup qualifiers games against Nigeria.

The head coach for the reigning African champions, Hugo Bross, revealed the 23 players for the double header.

Team captain Benjamin Moukandjo is also part of the team that has Seville goalie Fabrice Ondoa, Sochaux’s Teikeu Adolphe, Sparta Prague’s Georges Mandjeck, Choupo Moting (Stoke City), Fai Collins (Standard de Liège, Belgium) among other players of the 2017 AFCON winning team.

[/media-credit] Cameroon players celebrate after winning AFCON 2017. A bulk of that team has been maintained Credit: © Kawowo Sports | AMINAH BABIRYE

Nigeria hosts the first leg at Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo state on the 1st September, 2017 with the return leg on the 4th September in Yaounde.

The two countries last confrontation was during an international friendly match played on 11th October 2015  which the Nigeria Super Eagles comprehensively won 3-0.

By and large, Cameroon leads the overall head to head between the two countries with 10 victories, 6 draws and 4 losses.

Full Cameroon team:

Fabrice Ondoa Frabrice (FC Séville, Espagne), Goda Jules (AC Ajaccio, France), Bokwe Georges (Mjondalen, Norway), Ngadeu Ngadjui Michael (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Teikeu Adolphe (FC Sochaux, France ), Mabouka Ernest (Maccabi Haïfa, Israël), Castelleto Jean Charles (Brest, France), Leuko Serge (CD Lugo, Spain), Collins Fai (Standard de Liège, Belgium), Banana Yaya (Panionios, Greece), Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders, USA), Djoum Suitchuin Giles Arnaud (FC Hearts, Scotland), Georges Mandjeck (Sparta Prague,Czech Republic), Sebastien Siani (KV Oostende, Belgium), Franck Zambo Anguissa (Marseille, France), Choupo Moting (Stoke City, England), Vincent Aboubakar (FC Porto, Portugal), Benjamin Moukandjo (Jiansung, China), Christian Bassogog (Henan Jianye, China), Karl Toko Ekambi (FC Angers, France), Jean Pierre Nsame (Young Boys, Switzerland), Moumi Ngamaleu (Rheinorf, Astria), Fabrice Olinga (Royal Mouscron, Belgium)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think Cancel reply