Davis Kashaka receives a trophy at a previous golfing event in Uganda Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

2017 Rwanda Corporate Golf Tournament

  • Best Gross: Davis Kashaka – 74
  • Seniors: V. Chhikara – 68 Nett
  • Ladies: K.J.Lee – 73 Nett
[/media-credit] Davis Kashaka receives a trophy at a previous golfing event in Uganda Credit: KAWOWO SPORTS

The name Davis Kashaka is a common entity on Uganda and Rwanda golf courses.

Seldom does Kashaka miss the podium after a grueling round of golf.

Once again, the Kigali club golf captain was the best gross player at the 2017 Rwanda Corporate Tournament over the weekend.

Kashaka scored 74 gross to win the inaugural CIMERWA Corporate golf tournament held at the Kigali golf course in Nyarutarama over the weekend.

The day long tourney had close to 80 players in either gender.

Other winners

David Rwiyamirira scored 70 Nett to come out on top in the handicap 0-9 better of John Thairu, 72 Nett, and Kennedy Murichu, who returned 73 Nett.

Handicap 10-18 group was won by Marvin Musana, who scored 69 Nett, followed by Butera Rutagaramba, 69 Nett, and Rwabika Steven, 70 Nett.

Felix Sugi topped the handicap 19-28 group with scores of 64 Nett, finishing ahead of Sidney Mbua – 69 Nett, and Sanday Kabarebe – 71 Nett.

The seniors’ handicap 0-27 category was claimed by V. Chhikara, who returned 68 Nett, two shots better than first runner-up Kim Moon (70 Nett), while Biru Rai finished third with 72 Nett.

K.J.Lee scored 73 Nett to claim the women’s top prize beating Alice Rwigema (79 Nett), Sheetal Philip – 80 Nett, and Liu Huifang – 81 Nett, who took second, third and fourth places respectively.

Winners in the different categories walked away with trophies and other prizes ranging from golf trolley bags and cement.

Next in the frey is the 2017 Toyota golf tournament on September 23.

A week later, the Ubumwe Grand Hotel tournament will take center stage.

Golfers once again used the plat form to socialize, exercise and network as they enjoyed the round.

Other top performers

Group A  (0-9 Handicap)

  • Winner: David Rwiyamirira – 70 Nett
  • Runners Up: John Thairu – 72 Nett
  • 2nd Runners Up: Kennedy Murichu – 73 Nett

Group B (10-18 Handicap)

  • Winner: Marvin Musana – 69 Nett
  • Runners Up: Butera Rutagaramba – 69 Nett
  • 2nd Runners up: Steven Rwabika – 70 Nett

Group C (9-28 Handicap)

  • Winner: Felix Sugi – 64 Nett
  • Runners Up: Sidney Mbua – 69 Nett
  • 2nd Runners Up: Sanday Kabarebe – 71 Nett


  • Winner: V. Chhikara – 68 Nett
  • Runners Up: Kim Moon – 70 Nett
  • 2nd Runners Up: Biru Rai – 72 Nett


  • Winner: K.J.Lee – 73 Nett
  • Runners Up: Alice Rwigema – 79 Nett
  • 2nd Runners Up: Philip Sheetal – 80 Nett
  • 3rd Runners Up: Liu Huifang – 81 Nett

[Story partially attributed to Rwanda Times]

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think