James Eyul receives his overall trophy Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Grand Mug of Mugs (Danny Nkata Memorial):

  • Overall Winner: James Eyul – Handicap 17 (83 Gross, 66 Nett)
  • Ladies Winner:Irene Nakalembe – Handicap 3 – 72 Nett
  • Number of participants – 124 players
  • Mode of play – Medal
[/media-credit] James Eyul receives his overall trophy Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Handicap 17 golfer James Eyul returned the overall best score to win the 2017 Danny Nkata Memorial Tournament at the lake side Entebbe Golf Club course.

Eyul smiled to the podium with the broadest smile having claimed the overall prize in the season climaxing tourney at the historical club, founded in 1901.

He played 40 and 43 gross points in the first and back nine of the course respectively, amassing a total of 83.

Eyul thus had the best net score of 66 to win the overall trophy and a golf kit donated by Castle lite.

“It is a privilege and honor to win the year ending tournament at the club. I must say 2017 has been a great golfing year. I salute the rest of the golfing family” he said in a brief speech.

[/media-credit] Maxi Byenkya recieves his prize Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Group Winners:

Michael Tumusiime won group A (handicap 0-9) with 69 nett, Moses Masiko and Dennis Onyango were first and second runners up respectively.

In group B, handicap 14 golfer John Muchiri was the best with 68 Nett.

He was followed by Li Ming Jun with 70 nett and Peter Apell with 72 nett.

Tonny Katamba took home the best prize as the group C winner (68 Nett) as Alan Zhang and Daniel Opwonya finished first and second runners up respectively.


Entebbe born and bred lady golfer Irene Nakalembe was the best overall ladies player on the day with 72 nett.

Maxi Byenkya closely followed with 73 nett to claim second place and Anne Abeja was second runners up with 76 nett.

Charles Kabunga was the best senior player in the 55 years and above catergory.

The best guest player on the day was Wendy ‘Onduparaka’ Angu’deyo with 68 Nett.

For returning to the club house a rare score of 112 gross (100 Nett), handicap 12 golfer Oscar Ssemawere was tagged the most tired player as he was rewarded with a stool and sauce pan for the Piga Mingi Award:

A total of 124 players took part in the day-long event decimated by sunny weather conditions.

[/media-credit] Fire Works over the Entebbe Golf Course sky lines Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Like the norm has also been in the past couple of years, there was fire works played over the Entebbe skylines as a way of crowning the golfing season at the prestigious lake side golfing facility before guests wined and dined.

Entertainment was well catered for by pop, dancehall, RnB and soul artist Ykee Benda before the famous Entebbe choir took over at the treasured 19th hole.

[/media-credit] Ykee Benda with the Queen dancers entertaining the crowd at the 19th hole Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

Meanwhile, Peter Apell and Pamela Tumusiime were crowned as the best male and female club golfers over the period of 12 months having topped the charts in the monthly mugs’ competitions.

For starters, Danny Nkata was the one of the first black African golfers in Uganda after the Kabaka of Buganda Sir. Daudi Chwa, later served as secretary of Uganda Golf Union (UGU).

Besides golf and football refereeing, he was also a keen Tennis player.

He was also the first chairman of Entebbe Golf Club and has a legacy as the first FIFA accredited referee South of the Sahara.

The par 4 hole number 18 was named after him as Dan Nkata Munyigwawabbiri.

Nkata died in the year 2004 aged 74 years.

[/media-credit] Some of the Entebbe Golf Club Executive members Credit: © Kawowo Sports | DAVID ISABIRYE

In 2016, the Danny Nkata Memorial Tournament was won by Charles Mubiru and Pamela Tumusiime (men and women respectively).

Outstanding Performers:

Overall Winner:

  • James Eyul – Handicap 17 – 66 Nett

Winner Group A (0-9):

  • Michael Tumusiime – Handicap 05 – 69 Nett

1st Runners Up:

  • Moses Masiko – Handicap 06 – 76 Nett

2nd Runners Up:

  • Dennis Onyango – Handicap 03 – 77 Nett

Winner Group B (10-18):

  • John Muchiri – Handicap 14 – 68 Nett

1st Runners Up:

  • Li Ming Jun – Handicap 17 – 70 Nett

2nd Runners Up:

  • Peter Apell – Handicap 15

Winner Group C (19-28):

  • Tonny Katamba – Handicap 24 – 68 Nett

1st Runners Up:

  • Alan Zhang – Handicap 22 – 69 Nett

2nd Runners Up:

  • Daniel Opwonya – Handicap 19 – 71 Nett



  • Irene Nakalembe – Handicap 3 – 72 Nett

1st Runner Up:

  • Maxi Byenkya – Handicap 17 – 73 Nett

2nd Runners Up:

  • Ann Abeja – Handicap 12 – 76 Nett

Winner Seniors (55 Years and Above):

  • Charles Kabunga – Handicap 24 – 74 Nett

Guest Winner:

  • Wendy Angu’deyo – Handicap 27 – 68 Nett

Piga Mingi Award:

  • Oscar Ssemawere H/C 12 – 112 Gross (100 Nett)

Men Overall Standings after 12 Months:

  1. Peter Apell
  2. Daniel Opwonya
  3. Andrew Baguma
  4. Michael Monne
  5. Kiryowa ‘K.K’ Kiwanuka
  6. Moses Ssebugwawo
  7. Jacob Byamukama
  8. Oscar Ssemawere
  9. Steven Ojambo
  10. Tonny Katamba

Ladies (Overall Season Standings):

  1. Pamela Tumusiime
  2. Rita Akot Apell
  3. Maxi Byenkya
  4. Irene Nakalembe
  5. Rhoda Tumusiime

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think