Jas Mangat Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
[/media-credit] Jas Mangat Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

The 2018 National Rally Championship season has kicked off to a blazing start with some breathtaking action from the top contenders.

All crews displayed their urgency to make the first statement of the season.

However, it was Jas Mangat and Joseph Kamya who drew the first blood on day one.

The Pilipili rally crew showed their early intentions registering the first stage win of the season. They eventually maintained their pace to lead the day’s five stages with the fastest time of 45 minutes, 19 seconds.

Mangat heads into the final day with 46 seconds lead ahead of Ronald Sebuguzi.

[/media-credit] Ronald Sebuguzi Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Ronald Sebuguzi was as well determined to put up a challenge but he would finish second with a stage win in Rushororo.

Duncan Mubiru gave the Subaru GVB a worthy debut despite being affected by the transition from Left hand to Right hand drive car.

[/media-credit] Duncan Mubiru Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Mubiru finished day one with the third fastest time, 47seconds behind day one leader Mangat.

“My only challenge has been the Right hand drive. It has never been my best option to drive a Right hand drive car.

“Just like everyone saw us struggling in the Super Special Stages, it is the same way the stages have been.

“We have developed a stirring problem. Incase we manage to fix it then we shall be good to go,” he said.

Adam Rauf Essa indeed remembered too well his last experience of Mbarara rally.

[/media-credit] Adam Rauf Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

Essa left many fans in awe with his breathtaking pace that placed him in fourth position.

Defending Mbarara rally winner Omar Mayanja finished day one in fifth position followed by reigning NRC champion Christakis Fitidis.

Susan Muwonge came in seventh while Fred Busulwa and Ashiraf Ahmed came in eight and ninth position respectively.

Meanwhile, day one registered several casualties including Ponsiano Lwakataka whose rally ended in stage one after an Engine knock. Hassan Alwi as well rolled out of the rally in stage one.

The crews will cover five stages in the final day before the winner is announced.

Day One Top 10 Results

  1. Jas Mangat/J. Kamya 45:19
  2. Ronald Sebuguzi/L.Ssenyange 46:05
  3. Duncan Mubiru/M.Nsubuga 46:06
  4. Adam Rauf/G.Semakula 46:29
  5. Omar Mayanja/H.Mukuye 47:50
  6. Christakis Fitidis/E.Nzamwita 49:26
  7. Susan Muwonge/E.Kyeyune 49:45
  8. Fred Busulwa/M.Kibuuka 51:04
  9. Ashiraf Ahmed/E.Kiyingi 53:29
  10. Umar Daudi/M.Sebiina 54:03

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think