Joshua Cheptegei Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

2018 Cross Country Championship:

  • 10th February
  • Jinja Golf Course, Jinja (8 a.m)
[/media-credit] Joshua Cheptegei setting the pace during the IAAF World Cross Country Championship senior race Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

It will be a titanic clash as the 2018 Cross Country championship take center stage at the Jinja Golf Course this Saturday.

Uganda’s top distance runners led by Olympic marathon Champion Stephen Kiprotich, Commonwealth Games double  gold medalist Moses Kipsiro, World Championship silver medalist Joshua Cheptegei, World Junior Cross Country Champion, Jacob Kiplimo, World University Games golden girl, Dorcus Ajok, National Cross Country defending champions Merceline Chelangat and  Peruth Chemutai, among others will all be in action.

Jinja town and the surrounding community have  been provided yet another rare opportunity to watch the country’s world stars in action

“The Uganda Athletics Federation has offered the general public free entrance to the park to watch the competition as a corporate responsibility and also to thank the public who thronged Kololo Independence Grounds massively to support Uganda team during the 2017 World Cross Country Championships” UAF Publicity secretary Namayo Mawerere noted.

In the senior women catergory, Mercyline  Chelangat, Rachael  Chebet, Dorcus  Ajok, Doreen  Chesang and Doreen Chemutai among others will battle for top honours.

The stage is already set for the championships which UAF will use to select the national cross country team to represent Uganda at the 5th edition of the Africa Cross Country Championships due March 17, 2018 in Algeria.


Senior Men (10 KM):

1 Joshua Cheptegei 29:02
2 Phillip Kipyeko 29:24
3 Abdallah  Kibet Mande 29:40
4 Timothy Toroitich 29:42
5 Stephen Kiprotich 29:46
6 Stephen Kiisa 29:53
7 Fred Musobo 29:55
8 Mande Bushendich 30:04
9 Peter Kibet 30:13
10 Filex Chemonges 30:18

Senior Women (10 KM):

1 Mercyline  Chelangat 34:41
2 Rachael  Chebet 35:16
3 Dorcus  Ajok 35:46
4 Doreen  Chesang 35:54
5 Doreen  Chemutai 35:56
6 Annet Chebet 36:16
7 Juliet  Chekwel 36:38
8 Stella  Chesang 36:46
9 Prim Twikirize 37:00
10 Sarah Akiror 37:03

U-20 Men:

1 Jacob Kiplimo 23:25
2 Titus Kwemoi 23:53
3 Victor Kiplangat 23:54
4 Elisha Chemutai 24:03
5 Kevin Kibet 24:04

U-20 Women:

1 Peruth Chemutai 20:20
2 Janat Chemusto 20:39
3 Esther Chekwemoi 21:08
4 Sarah Chelangat 21:20
5 Scarlett Chemos 22:0

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think