Jacob Kiplimo with the final kick enroute victory in Italy at the Cinque Mulini race Credit: IAAF
[/media-credit] Jacob Kiplimo with the final kick enroute victory in Italy at the Cinque Mulini race Credit: IAAF

Uganda’s Jacob Kiplimo triumphed in the men’s 11KM at the 86th edition of Cinque Mulini in San Vittore Olona over the weekend.

The reigning world U-20 cross-country champion clocked 34:00 minutes ahead of Ethiopia’s Telahun Bekele, who finished second.

Kiplimo beat Bekele by 17 seconds.

As quoted by the IAAF website, revealed his season target as well;

I am very happy with the win in this prestigious race. It was not a difficult race today.

My goal for the season is to run under 27 minutes in the 10,000m and win a medal at the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast.

How Kiplimo won

From an eight-man leading group – formed by Eritrea’s Kokob Ghebru, Kenya’s Peter Ndegwa, Jacob Kiplimo, Italy’s Yemaneberhan Crippa, Ethiopian runners Taye Girma and Haile Telahun, Yassine Rachik from Italy and Filmon Ande from Eritrea, they went through the second lap in 9:17.

The leading pack was whittled down to six men when Bekele, Ndegwa, Kiplimo, Ghebru, Girma and Crippa pushed the pace, going through the third lap in 17:44.

Kiplimo and Bekele increased their pace, pulling away from a chasing three-man group formed by Ndegwa, Crippa and Girma and opened up a gap of 16 seconds during the fourth lap.

Kiplimo broke away from Bekele during the last lap, dropping him by 17 seconds and went on to win in 34:00.

Taye Girma prevailed in the battle for third place in 34:31 edging Ndegwa (34:34) and Crippa (34:36).

Kiplimo became the first Ugandan to win the Cinque Mulini race since Boniface Kiprop’s triumph in 2004.

Ethiopia’s Letesenbet Gidey with the finishing kick Credit: IAAF

In the women’s 6km race, Ethiopia’s Letesenbet Gidey took the honours off Kenya’s Daisy Jepkemei by four seconds.

This was the the sixth and penultimate leg of the IAAF Cross Country Permit circuit.

TOP 10:

1 Jacob Kiplimo (Uganda) – 34:00
2 Haile Telahun (Ethiopia) – 34:17
3 Taye Girma (Ethiopia) – 34:31
4 Peter Ndegwa (Kenya) – 34:34
5 Yemaneberhan Crippa (Italy) – 34:36
6 Ande Filmon (Eritrea) – 34:52
7 Kokob Ghebru (Eritrea) – 35:11
8 Yohanes Chiappinelli (Italy) – 35:11
9 Yassine Rachick (Italy) – 35:29
10 Lorenzo Dini (Italy) – 35:37

1 Letesenbet Gidey (Ethiopia) – 18:14
2 Daisy Jepkemei (Kenya) – 18:18
3 Feysa Hawi (Ethiopia) – 18:20
4 Norah Jeruto Tanui (Kenya) – 18:30
5 Edao Febitu Bontu (Britain) – 18:55
6 Gemma Steel (Britain) – 19:07
7 Martina Merlo (Italy) – 19:28
8 Sara Bottarelli (Italy) – 19:37
9 Alice Gaggi (Italy)-  19:37
10 Roberta Ciappini (Italy) – 19:42

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think