L-R: Entebbe Municipality Town Clerk Charles Magumba, Shen Xiaolin (CCCC Country Director), Mayor Vincent Kayanja De Paul and Elizabeth Akankiza Credit: EJA

2nd Entebbe Marathon:

  • Saturday, 25th March 2018
  • Start/Finish: Entebbe Botanical Gardens
  • 10KM, 21KM & 42 KM
  • Entry Fee: 10,000/= per person

The second Entebbe Municipality Marathon has been officially launched on Monday, 19th February 2018 at the Mayors’ parlor.

[/media-credit] L-R: Entebbe Municipality Town Clerk Charles Magumba, Shen Xiaolin (CCCC Country Director), Mayor Vincent Kayanja De Paul and Elizabeth Akankiza Credit: EJA

China Communications Construction Company Limited (Uganda) is once again on board to bankroll the marathon that has three different categories; 10KM, 21KM and the 42KM.

The deputy country manager at CCCC Shen Xiaolin handed over the dummy cheque of Shs 65M, the contribution of the Chinese construction firm.

CCCC Deputy Country Manager, Shen Xiaolin Credit: EJA

Entebbe Municipality Mayor, Vincent Kayanja De Paul explained the essence of this year’s run as raising at least Shs 13 billion to help in improvement of the Universal Primary Education (UPE) schools within the Lake Victoria Peninsular town.

We are glad that the second edition of the Entebbe Marathon is back.

We call upon many people to come and register for the run. This marathon will target Shs 13 billion with a goal of improving the general welfare of our UPE schools

[/media-credit] Entebbe Town clerk Charles Magumba (left) recieves a running kit from Mayor Kayanja De Paul Credit:

The schools being targeted to benefit are; St Agnes, Lake Victoria, Kiwafu, Nakiwogo, St Joseph’s Katabi, Namate, St Tereza, Kiggungu, Kiwafu Muslim, Marine Base, Nsamizi, Airforce, Changsha and Bugonga Boys.

Entry Fees:

All runners are expected to buy a running kit of 10,000/= each.

[/media-credit] Town clerk Charles Magumba, Mayor Vincent Kayanja De Paul and Monitor’s Elizabeth Akankiza during the press conference at Entebbe Municipal Council Credit: EJA

Other partners in the project are Entebbe Municipality, Daily Monitor, Balunywa Promotions, Movit, NTV and Sinocham.

Last year’s winners:

The inaugural event last year was held on 19th March 2017.

Felix Kiplagat Erikana, John Kateregga and Jacob Araptai won the 42KM, 21 and 10km races respectively.

The trio also earned tickets to take part in the Wuhan China marathon.

In the Ladies Category, Uganda Prisons Staff Hellen Chemutai beat Dorcus Inzikuru to finish top in the 42km category. She successfully completed the 42 km category with a timing of (3:08:56) while Dorcus Inzikuru came second with a timing of (2:03:22:50).

Chebet Rispa topped the 5km category with a timing of 35:46:06 while Janet Achola finished second with a timing of (35:59:06).

Rebbeca Cheptegei and Vanis Chemtai finished first and second in the 21km category with a timing of 1:20:28 and 1:24:51 respectively.

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Big up this year to Kateregga John, Bahati Sadiq, Lubega Aloysias and Ssebuuma Gonzaga (Mityana Athletics Club) coach Kabaalu loves you heavens and back.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think