Paul Mucureezi celebrates his goal against CNaP Sport in the CAF Champions League Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE
  • CAF Champions League – Preliminary Round (Return Leg):
  • KCCA 1-0 CNaps Sport (Aggregate: 2-2)

[media-credit name=”© Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE” align=”alignnone” width=”900″][/media-credit]

KCCA Football Club edged Madagascar record champions CNaPS Sport 1-0 in the return leg of the CAF Champions League preliminary round played at Lugogo on Wednesday.

Paul Mucureezi headed home in the 64th minute for the lone goal of the game watched by a convincing crowd that included the Lord Mayor of Kampala City, Erias Lukwago.

Mucureezi was well positioned to nod home past goalkeeper Andonianina Fanomezantsoa Andrimalala off Mustapha Kizza’s teasing corner.

Before the decisive moment, it had been an end to end game with a number of goal scoring opportunities created by either side.

CNaPS left back Ronald Rajaonarivelo was well positioned to tame a goal bound header from defender Fillbert Obenchan after Mucureezi’s corner on 17 minutes.

Against the run of play, the visitors had a quick counter attack orchestrated by Milison Niasexe that benefited a teasing through ball to dangerman Francis Rafaralahy but he was denied by goalkeeper Charles Lukwago in a one against one incident.

Allan Okello had two of his customary shots from distance flying narrowly away from goal as the first forty five minutes bore no fruits in terms of goal tally.

[/media-credit] KCCA XI vs CNaps Sport Credit: © Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE

As the second half returned, the KCCA technical bench led by manager Mike Mutebi introduced striker Shaban Muhammed for Denis Okot Oola.

The move was meant to ignite pressure to the opposition with Derrick Nsibambi and Shaban in attack.

On the hour mark, CNaPS made their first change of the game when Niasexe paved way for Emilison Patrick Tolojanahary.

Four minutes later, KCCA players and fans alike were jubilating Mucureezi’s goal after a great delivered curling corner from the right by left back Mustapha Kizza who later limped out for Paul Musamali in the 69th minute.

The visitors were also forced with a substitution when Haja Mirija Fortunat Rasoanaivoarison limped out for Micheal Rabeosn Fetraniana after 72 minutes.

Tojo Nantenaina Ramanitrandrasana Miandrisoa had moments earlier come off for Jean Eric Andriamangason.

[media-credit name=”© Kawowo Sports | JOHN BATANUDDE” align=”alignnone” width=”900″][/media-credit]

Somalia FIFA Referee Hassan Mohamed Hagi cancelled out Andriamangason’s header 14 minutes to full time.

KCCA goalkeeper Lukwago came to KCCA’s rescue when he saved a well drilled header from Lantoniaina Andriamanalina off Ronald Rajaonarivelo’s cross from the left.

Lukwago was cautioned in added minutes for time wasting but KCCA held on to defend the slim victory that guaranteed them of progress to the first round.

During the first leg away in Antananarivo at the Vontovorona stadium, KCCA earned a precious away goal despite the 2-1 defeat.

Ratolojanahary Fenosoa’s second half penalty cancelled Derrick Nsibambi’s strike. Francis Rafaralahy scored the winner in added time.

KCCA will face Ethiopia’s St George Football Club that is home to Uganda Cranes’ goalkeeper Robert Odongkara in the first round.

St George shall host the first leg away in Addis Ababa between 5th and 6th May 2018.

Team Line Ups:

KCCA XI: Charles Lukwago (G.K), Fillbert Obenchan, Habibu Kavuma, Timothy Awany, Mustapha Kizza (68’ Paul Musamali), Lawrence Bukenya, Isaac Kirabira, Allan Okello, Paul Mucureezi (82’ Solomon Okwalinga), Denis Okot Oola (47’ Muhammed Shaban), Derrick Nsibambi

Subs Not Used: Jamil Maliyamungu (G.K), Peter Magambo, Abubakari Matisko, Hassan Musana

CNaPS Sport XI: Andonianina Fanomezantsoa Andrimalala (G.K), Tobisoa Njakanirina Ramanitrandrasana, Ronald Rajaonarivelo, Andoniaina Rakotondrazaka Andrianavalona (Captain), Lantoniaina Andriamanalina, Tojo Nantenaina Ramanitrandrasana Miandrisoa (70’ Jean Eric Andriamangason), Haja Mirija Fortunat Rasoanaivoarison (72’ Micheal Rabeosn Fetraniana), Lalaina Jacquot Manampisoa, Milison Niasexe (60’ Emilison Patrick Tolojanahary), Francis Rafaralahy, Bourahim Jaotombo

Subs Not Used: Jolce Emile Rakotonirina (G.K), Fenosoa Ratolojanahary, Pierralit Tovonay, Tantely Antoine Randrianiaina

Match Officials:

  • Center Referee: Hassan Hagi Mohamed (Somalia)
  • 1st Assistant Referee: Hagi Abdi Hamza (Somalia)
  • 2nd Assistant Referee: Suleiman Bashir Abdi (Somalia)
  • Fourth Official: Mohamed Nur Muhudin (Somalia)
  • Commissioner: Solomon Abebe Gibresilassie (Ethiopia)

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think