St Mary's Kitende player Sula Mpanga with an acrobatic kick during the game against Dynamic Credit: Thierry

Wakiso District Copa Regional Championships 2018:

• Kick-off: 10th April 2018

• At Champions Stadium Mwererwe

Kitende players celebrate after shoot-out triumph over Dynamic at the nationals in 2017 in Masaka

The 2018 Wakiso District Copa regional championships will kick off on Tuesday, 10th April at the Champions stadium in Mwererwe, home to Uganda Premier League club, Bright Stars F.C.

Twenty four (24) schools have been pooled in four groups.

Each group has six (6) schools with the best two per group marking it to the quarter finals.

Entebbe Zone champions Boston High School, Mpala is pooled in group A alongside Rines, Victoria High, St Peter’s High School, World Ahead and Mbogo Mixed.

Giants St Mary’s Kitende are in more or so a paper weight group B with the likes of Light Seguku, Zana Mixed, Royal College – Bulaga and little known Buloba High, off Mityana road.

St Julian High School, Gayaza Cambridge, Madina Islamic, Bilal Islamic, London College and Namugongo S.S complete group C.
London College succeeded after winning a petition filed against St Augustine’s College, Wakiso.

In arguably the group of death, Standard High Zana will face off with star studded Buddo S.S, Peace Islamic, Kitende S.S, Answan and Kawempe S.S.

According to the technical personnel on the games organizing committee, Gerald Katamba, the matches will be kick-off as early as 9 am at the Champions Stadium, Mwererwe.

He expects a stiff competition between the schools as they fight for the qualification slots to the nationals.

Wakiso District as a model region has the cream of schools. Expect a great battle between the schools vying for the qualifications slots to the national finals which will take place in Mbarara

Repeaters of any class are not permitted to take part in these games.

Wakiso District region will send five schools to the national finals that will be hosted by Mbarara High School in Western Uganda come May 2018.


Group A:

• Boston High School, Mpala

• Rines

• Victoria High

• St Peters’ High School

• World Ahead S.S

• Mbogo Mixed

Group B:

• Zana Mixed

• Royal College, Bulaga

• St Mary’s Kitende

• Light Seguku

• Kisubi High School

• Buloba High School

Group C:

• Gayaza Cambridge

• Madina Islamic

• St Julian High School

• Bilal Islamic

• London College

• Namugongo S.S

Group D:

• Standard High School, Zana

• Peace Islamic S.S

• Answan

• Buddo S.S

• Kawempe S.S

• Kitende S.S

David Isabirye is a senior staff writer for Kawowo Sports where he covers most of the major events.

Leave a comment

Please let us know what you think